Langkawi can be accessed through the main aviation hubs of Singapore and Kuala Lumpur as well as through more minor ports such as Penang . Other options for travel to Langkawi include ferries from Kuala Kedah (Kedah), Kuala Perlis (Perlis), and Satun ( Thailand ) or via speedboat from the small Thai islands of Tarutao for part of the year.

Travelling by air is the most popular way for international tourists to arrive and the Langkawi international airport is clean, spacious and modern.

From Kuala Lumpur International Airport  (KLIA)

Malaysia Airlines www.malaysiaairlines.com  

Malindo Air www.malindoair.com

From Kuala Lumpur Low Cost Carrier Terminal (KLCC)  (30 minute drive from KLIA & approx 1hr from KL City Centre)

Air Asia www.airasia.com 

From Kuala Lumpur Subang Airport  (15 minutes from City Center)

Firefly www.fireflyz.com 

From Singapore International Airport

Silk Air www.silkair.com

Air Asia www.airasia.com (Inaugral Flight 1st June 2009)

Tiger Airways www.tigerairways.com (Inaugral Flight 1st July 2009)  

Jetstar www.jetstar.com (Flight to be confirm, August 2009 Expected)

From Penang

Firefly www.fireflyz.com

Tiger Airways www.tigerairways.com (Inaugral Flight Date to be confirmed, August 2009 Expected)

By Ferry from Penang, Kuala Kedah, Kuala Perlis, or Thailand Satun, Koh Lipe or Tarutao  

 Langkawi Ferry  www.langkawi-ferry.com

Tiger Line Travel www.tigerlinetravel.com (From Nov.2009 till April 2010 - Direct Route Langkawi Awana Port to Koh Lipe)