Convent of Nuestra Señora de Gracia

The Convent of Nuestra Señora de Gracia is located at Calle Tras Gracia, 4. It was founded in 1509 by Doña Mencia Lopez, the widow of a silversmith from Avila. It was built on top of the Mezquita de la Solana. In 1531 Alonso de Cepeda had his daughter Teresa interned here against her will with the nuns so that she would mature. She studied with the nun Maria Briceño during one year. After that she had to go back to her father’s house due to illness. That is when she decided to become a nun, and later she was known as Santa Teresa. The main chapel dates to 1531 and in 1622 the vaults were reconstructed after a fire. The chapel has a Renaissance altarpiece paid for by Don Pedro Davila in memory of his parents, whose sepulchers are located on both sides of the main altar. The altarpiece was created by Juan Rodriguez y Lucas and it has twelve paintings that feature God, the Assumption, a Madonna and Child, and St. Peter and St. Paul.