Angaston is a delightful town more often referred to as a village and it has a number of icons.  A short distance from the shopping centre in Murray Street the oldest public building in the Barossa can be seen, heading north up Penrice Road is the 1844 built free chapel. It is also one of the oldest churches in South Australia that is still in use and is used for weddings etc.   From the corner of the Angaston hotel the Town Hall stands as a beautiful marble monument to the builders of 1911. The Angaston Hotel itself dates back to 1846 and the view of the Murray Street looking East encompasses several of the magnificent Moreton Bay fig trees and the old Masonic Hall. Still standing near the hotel the attractive Memorial Reserve can be seen down the road to the West.  Within the reserve are several statues,memorial plaques, rest room , picnic spots, shady seating and a delightful play area for tots.