We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
VisitScotland , the national tourism agency for Scotland, offers a wide range of information and detail in Killin via the Tourist Board web site.
Killin is a picturesque village at the head of
Loch Tay , beside the spectacular Falls of Dochart.
The Killin area abounds with Celtic legends and other historical associations.
Killin Church was rebuilt in 1744, replacing earlier buildings dating to the 9th century. The font is believed to be over 1000 years old and is the only seven-sided font discovered in Scotland.
Kinnell House, a short distance from the Falls of Dochart on the south side of the river, was the seat of the Clan McNab for 400 years. The McNab clan lived in Glen Dochart and Strathfillan for 800 years and their burial ground may be visited on the little island of Innis Buidhe situated at the bridge over the Falls of Dochart. Now in ruins, Finlarig Castle was once the home of the Campbells, particularly Black Duncan of Cowal, one of the most ruthless Campbell chiefs. The National Trust for Scotland has sensitively restored the Moirlanich Longhouse, Glen Lochay.
The Breadalbane Folklore Centre, housed in St Fillans Mill, overlooking the magnificent Falls of Dochart, gives a fascinating insight into the life and legends of Breadalbane. See St Fillan's sacred healing stones, learn about the diverse nature and wildlife of Breadalbane and discover the colourful history of local clans.
Visitors can book accommodation in Killin online via the VisitScotland.com site: