We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Church of
San Francisco is located at Plaza de San Francisco. It was constructed in 1219
by the Franciscan friars. Two large fires in 1580 and 1659 destroyed the archives
and library and the building has to be reconstructed in 1664. This had four
large cloisters. In 1808 it was occupied by the troops of Napoleon and these
troops damaged the church and convent very much. In 1836 when the government
nationalized all convents and churches, the Franciscan friars had to leave the
convent. Since 1951 the convent has been assigned to the Jesuits by the Bishop
of Palencia. The church has been declared a Monument of Cultural Interest. The
main nave is 39 meters long and 13 meters wide. The apse contains the coat of
arms of the Mendoza Family. The choir was constructed in 1510 and is decorated
with the coat of arms of Bishop Juan de Castilla, and there is a Baroque organ.
The façade has a rose window that imitates the Gothic style but was built at
the end of the 19th century.