We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rafiki : Kruger retreat, solar, FAST free WIFI, nature walks, wildlife visits

Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now
Downstairs lounge
Butterfly en suite room
Rural Africa bedroom

Overview
4 bedrooms
3 bathrooms
10 guests
3 nights minimum 
vr_segment_singular_manor_house_329
Rafiki's Resthouse offers in just one place all the features that people in the area look for: privacy; spacious villa; 2 min walk to Crocodile River for great views of elephant, rhino, buffalo, lion and so much more; many animals visiting you at your doorstep; entrance to Kruger as near as can be from Marloth Park ; restaurants, shops, leisure possibilities and other facilities close by ; complete relaxation and comfort in a large private garden with beautiful majestic trees and swimming pool. Last but not least, solar panels with back up battery and a borehole are important assets in a park where lack of electricity and periods of no water at all are getting quite common. Marloth Park is a nature conservancy Park which borders Kruger National Park in South Africa, only separated from the...Rafiki's Resthouse offers in just one place all the features that people in the area look for: privacy; spacious villa; 2 min walk to Crocodile River for great views of elephant, rhino, buffalo, lion and so much more; many animals visiting you at your doorstep; entrance to Kruger as near as can be from Marloth Park ; restaurants, shops, leisure possibilities and other facilities close by ; complete relaxation and comfort in a large private garden with beautiful majestic trees and swimming pool. Last but not least, solar panels with back up battery and a borehole are important assets in a park where lack of electricity and periods of no water at all are getting quite common. Marloth Park is a nature conservancy Park which borders Kruger National Park in South Africa, only separated from the famous game reserve by Crocodile River and a fence. Transport from airport and daily food delivery (for longer term stay) upon request. Free Wifi. The house is self catering , but we know of no other houses that have a cook if the guests wish to have their meal prepared.
House Rules
Pets not allowedKid friendlyNo smoking
No loud parties. Respect for environment and animals.
Bedrooms
4 Kings4 Singles1 Cot
Bathrooms
1 Full bath2 Attached (ensuite)

Meet the host
gerda s
Hosting since February 2016
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 100%
Response Time: Within a few hours
Interaction with guestsThe owner is not always there, but Betty the housekeeper lives nearby. The owner is in continuous contact via WhatsApp or e-mail to help or give advice or tell you where interesting game is.

Contribute
Reviews (36)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
If you have submitted a review for a holiday rental property, we may also ask that you provide us with proof of your stay to ensure that your review is attached to the correct rental property.
Holiday rental reviews collected via the VRBO website (formerly Homeaway) and syndicated to the Tripadvisor website are not currently subject to Tripadvisor’s standard moderation processes.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Maryke Marx
Maryke Marx
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Heaven on earth
We were 7 guests that visited Rafikis in June 2022. What a wonderful ,peaceful breakaway. The house is big and very well maintained. Close to the crocodile river and a stone throw away from the crocodile bridge gate of the Kruger. Enough rooms for everybody. The visit of the kudus the first night was a huge surprise. Even ate out of my sons hands.We saw all the animals that Gerda mentioned. From the small little bush babies to the shy Janet. Gerda was so friendly. Making sure that everything was ok everyday and providing us with daily load shedding schedules. Betty was a bonus. It was so nice to came home to a clean house after a long day in Kruger. She even washed our dishes and made our beds. Thank you Bettie. You are a Gem. The only negative…. Our stay was way to short. Will definitely visit again. Thanx for a wonderful holiday.
Visited June 2022
Written 13 July 2022. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
laraBrussels
laraBrussels
Thank you for this review. You were the perfect guests : respectful, communicative, enthusiastic, real nature and animal lovers. Exactly the kind of people we like to share our love for the bush with. We would love to welcome you again. Gerda
Written 24 July 2022. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Deshni
Deshni
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The most amazing experience
I will definitely rate rafiki rest house 10 /10. We had the most amazing experience while on vacation... I could not have asked for a better way to spend my 30th birthday. We was greet by impalas, kudus warthogs even zebras and many more animals that came right to the house every day. Rafiki house being just few mins away from one of the entrance to Kruger national park made it the perfect place for our vacation. Little did I realize that I was going to fall in love with this vacation home and I am definitely going back. Betty is the most helpful person I don't think the word NO is in her vocabulary she was always willing to help us and that with the biggest smile. Betty's Potjie is definitely a must try. For us going on vacation is always a challenge because I have a brother that needs dialysis twice in the week. But Gerda the owner of Rafiki Rest house made this so easy for us. Gerda arranged this for my brother it was so struggle on my side and for this we are most grateful. Gerda communicated with me from the day I made my booking she was always ready to advise and answer all of my silly questions. Gerda even arranged a safari for us to Kruger that was affordable and the ranger did everything in her power to ensure that we saw as much Game as we could. It was our 1st visit to Kruger and we spotted 4 out of the big 5... How amazing right... If you are looking for a vacation home(close to Kruger national park) that's affordable and comfortable basically a home away from home Rafiki rest house is a must try. Rafiki Rest House I will be back!!!
Visited May 2021
Written 24 May 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
laraBrussels
laraBrussels
Thank you so much for your review. Guests like you , enthusiastic and animal loving, make us happy sharing the place we love so much. When we heard it was for a birthday party, we were torn between wanting to give you a great time or refusing a large group intending to celebrate and maybe disturb the peace of the bush. I feel so relieved and happy that we gave it a chance. You were the most respectful and friendly guests, all of you. Very communicative as well, which makes things easier. Betty and I thank you and your family for staying with us and we indeed hope to welcome you again.
Written 25 May 2021. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jaun Tanya Nieuwenhuys
Jaun Tanya Nieuwenhuys
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent Rafiki
Welcomed by Betty who always has a smile on her face and assisting when ever needed. Gerda is fantastic. Plenty of animals on your door step. Wildebees did some car watching at night. Children friendly and a lovely pool. We really relaxed and became one with nature. You must visit Rafiki. Definatly a 10 out of 10.
Visited March 2021
Written 21 March 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
laraBrussels
laraBrussels
Thank you so much for staying with us. Very welcome back any time. The wildebeest seemed to have taken a liking to you and your lovely family. Betty adored your children who seemed so much at ease with the animals and behaved so perfectly with them. It encourages us to welcome children as well. Warm regards, Gerda and Betty.
Written 24 May 2021. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tienie En S
Tienie En S
18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Best holiday ever
Can highly recommend Rafiki Guesthouse! Absolutely the best experience. Animals came for a daily visit. Betty was super friendly and her cooking is absolutely great. Gerda keeps you up to date with everything needed for your stay. So close to the Kruger Park. Only problem is Rafiki is so nice,I wanted to stay at home instead of going into the Kruger. It was really an absolute wonderful experience and we will definitely be back. Thank you so much for giving us in this difficult Covid time a lovely break away. We could not have chosen a better place.
Visited December 2020
Written 11 January 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
laraBrussels
laraBrussels
Thank you so much for your kind words. If our guests are happy, we also get a share of that happiness.We would love to welcome your family again. Gerda and Betty.
Written 17 January 2021. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

amigolucy
amigolucy
94 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A daily safari - from your own patio!
We are from the USA - our life dream was to book a safari in Africa. I browsed places to stay “before and after” the Safari as we are retired and had the month. Well - the safari never got booked once we saw this place online. It was everything we ever dreamed and more. We made friends with the zebras - one actually stepped up on the patio to greet me - and the majestic kudu, the hilarious warthogs. Visitors to our yard! I can’t wrap words around the experience. Crocodile Gate was minutes away - and yes we did a number of daytime safaris in Kruger - but mostly we self drove in our little tiny rental car. Towards the end all we wanted was to stay home, stroll the fence overlooking the river, stumble upon ostrich on our way there and then back to our patio. We loved Betty - the resident housekeeper- and her amazing smile and generous laughs. The villa is immaculate, sleep was quiet, and attention to details excellent. We loved every minute. Of course - now the dream is to return.
Visited January 2020
Written 29 September 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
laraBrussels
laraBrussels
We do hope that your dream comes true and that we can soon welcome you again, with very open arms. Gerda and Betty.
Written 30 September 2020. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

McTravellers2011
McTravellers2011
Umdloti, South Africa10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Outstanding place to stay right at Kruger's doorstep
We just got back from a 7 night stay at Rafiki's Resthouse. This is an incredible and affordable place to stay for anyone wanting to explore the Kruger National Park. The house has a homely "home away from home" feel set in a lovely location full of beautiful trees. For those hot days, there is a lovely pool to cool off in. The best part is feeling that you are one with nature: general game come through the garden throughout the day, there are amazing birds and at night, you may be lucky to be visited by the local bush babies. We enjoyed feeding the three magnificent male Kudus that came for a visit one afternoon. Rafiki's Resthouse is located in Marloth Park, close to the entry gate to Marloth Park, which means that you are a mere 12 minute drive away from Kruger National Park's Crocodile Bridge entry gate. For the days where you don't want to enter Kruger, you can still see an abundance of wildlife both in Marloth Park and at the fence/river which borders the Kruger (we saw lions and elephants at the fence). Gerda was an excellent and communicative host who was constantly in contact to ensure that we had the best stay. We are already planning our next trip to Rafiki's Resthouse.
Visited September 2020
Written 29 September 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
laraBrussels
laraBrussels
Thank you so much for your comments. We are very happy that you had a great stay and would love to welcome you again. Gerda
Written 30 September 2020. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Amigo1111
Amigo1111
Pine City, MN51 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Zebras and Kudu at your door...
Not enough words - how can one write about something that can only be felt? Why book an expensive safari? This property (and we checked out others) is better - and the best in Marloth Park. It’s large trees and rustic gardens make it an oasis. The house is large, comfy, and has excellent WiFi. The housekeeper, Betty, will greet you with a huge smile and she maintains home in immaculate condition. We stayed a week - and could have stayed a month. The animals are simply amazing and they must love this place too - they showed up daily. Thank you Gerda - and Betty!
Visited September 2020
Written 28 September 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
laraBrussels
laraBrussels
Thank you so much for this review. You were great guests and the animals knew it as well :). Next time, stay a month! Very welcome!
Written 16 November 2022. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Deborah M
Deborah M
32 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ms
An experience with a difference! Gerda was an amazing communicator and was incredibly receptive of any requests made by our group of 9... Nothing was too much. Rafiki Guesthouse itself is a beautifully maintained home, with everything you need for self catering and beyond! For eg, we had Betty make us an amazing vegetarian (vegan) potjiekos! The daily cleaning was a real treat too! :) The proximity of the Crocodile River gate made the game park visits a breeze and we saw the big 5 which helped enhance the experience. The experience of cooking every night for ourselves was a bonding experience for our family. Along with night animal visitors! Seriously, unreal!! Overall, a 5/5 experience...
Visited December 2019
Written 4 January 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
laraBrussels
laraBrussels
Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you had a great stay and you were great guests. We do hope to see you again some day. Gerda and Betty.
Written 29 September 2020. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nazriff
Nazriff
Singapore, Singapore1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Simply Magical
This was a god-gifted abode from the concrete jungle that we have been living in. Being immersed in an environment where wild animals could visit us any time of the day was just so surreal. Having a selfless amazing housekeeper, who felt like family within that few days we were there, completed the entire memorable experience. We are looking forward to another trip back and will absolutely have Rafiki's Resthouse on our list of holiday accommodations.
Visited June 2019
Written 23 June 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
laraBrussels
laraBrussels
Thank you so much for having enjoyed our home and the animals. It makes us happy. Also thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. For Betty is indeed guests' happiness a priority. We would be very honoured to welcome you back again. Gerda and Betty
Written 25 June 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lisa Joel
Lisa Joel
Sheffield, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
“WOW”
We have just spent the most wonderful week at Rafikis Resthouse. It is truly outstanding and we feel honoured to have been able to stay there. Only 15 minutes from Kruger National Park but you don’t even need to even leave the garden as animals come to visit morning, noon and night. Plenty of places within a very short drive to eat and drink but to sit on the veranda in the evening watching the world go by is wonderful. The best thing about Rafikis is Betty the housekeeper who is the kindest warmest person we have ever met, nothing is too much trouble for her and she makes an amazing beef stew. She has an infectious laugh and a smile that lights up the room. No pictures do this wonderful home justice you need to visit to believe it you won’t be disappointed it is a truly magical place.
Visited March 2019
Written 24 March 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
laraBrussels
laraBrussels
Thank you so much for your review and the trouble you take to write. You make us very happy when you write that you had a great stay at our home. That is what we do it for. The mother wildebeest lying down with their calves close to you was really exceptional as they are very distrusting. Unfortunately, you had to put up with all this load shedding (official electricity cuts), but you took it the way Africans do : inevitable therefore making the best of it. I will tell Betty that you appreciated her cooking (so do we, lol). She truly is all the good things of Africa: her love for life itself, her happy laughter, her good nature, her wish to please and to help, ... Thank you and we hope to be able to welcome you again one day. Gerda, Paavo and Betty
Written 25 March 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 11-20 of 36

What this rental offers
Bathroom and laundry
  • Iron
  • Linens provided
  • Towels provided
  • Washer
Kitchen and dining
  • Grill
  • Freezer
  • Refrigerator
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Cooker
  • Toaster
Wi-fi and internet
  • Wi-fi
Nearby
  • Golf course (within 30 mins drive)
  • Horse riding facilities
  • Tennis court
Scenic views
  • Waterfront views
Living spaces
  • Highchair
Outdoor amenities
  • Balcony
  • Children's pool
  • Garage
  • Patio
  • Private outdoor pool (unheated)
  • Private yard
  • Terrace
Indoor amenities
  • Air conditioning
  • Internet access
Things to do
  • Fishing spots available
  • Cycling areas
Property features
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Staff on property
Parking
  • Secure parking available
Entertainment
  • Television
Location info
  • Kid friendly

Availability
M
T
W
T
F
S
S

June 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

July 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4

Map
Getting there
Skukuza Airport
31 mi

Londolozi Aerodrome
42.7 mi
Restaurants
Jabula Lodge & Restaurant
3.2 mi

Phumula Kruger
2.1 mi

The Tin Shack Marloth Park
1.7 mi

Amazing Kruger View Restaurant
3.3 mi
Attractions
Marloth Park Adventures
3.9 miOff-Road & ATV Trails

Bushveld Atlantis
1.9 miWater Parks

Lionspruit Game Reserve
1.8 miNature & Wildlife Areas
About the neighbourhood
Close proximity to Mozambique (2hrs drive), Panorama Route (can be done in a day trip) and Kruger National park entrance (12 mins drive), Swaziland (can be done in a day trip) .
Getting around
There are organised tours (pick up and drop off at the house) to Kruger, Mozambique, Swaziland, Panorama route ...
Access
Car advised
How to get there
1 hr from Nelspruit; 110 mins from Maputo
Activities nearby
Fishing spots availableGolf course (within 30 mins drive)Horse riding facilitiesTennis court

Things to know
Check in / out timings
Check in after 2 pm Check out by 10 am
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available once booking is confirmed

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.


Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.

This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/HL_Supplier_Logo.svg   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #HL2227001360

Rafiki : Kruger retreat, solar, FAST free WIFI, nature walks, wildlife visits - UPDATED 2024 - Holiday Rental in Marloth Park - Tripadvisor