We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property

1860's Coastguards Cottage

Save
Front of the House
Certificate of Excellence
Very good
11 reviews
Front of the House
Corner view of the house
Back Garden
Front Garden
Childrens Garden
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining area
Double Bedroom
Bedroom with Bunk Beds
Bunk bedroom
High Tide at Rye Harbour
River Rother High Tide at Rye Harbour
Rye Harbour Beach at high tide.
Rye Harbour Beach at low tide
Rye Harbour beach at low tide
Dunes at Camber Sands
Pett Level Beach
Evening Sunset on the River Rother
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms , 1 Bathroom , Sleeps 8
Rye, East Sussex, England
A 4 bedroom end of terrace house situated in a quiet corner of a tranquil square of Rye Harbour. This 1860 Georgian four bedroom period holiday home accommodates up to 8 guests in a home from home atmosphere with lots of creature comforts provided for a really enjoyable holiday or break. Our local beach is a merely a 10 min walk through the Rye Harbour Nature Reserve. The walk to the River Rother is less than 5 minutes walk and is perfect for crab fishing. Accommodation is centrally heated: Parking for 2- 3 cars. For visitors with pushchairs and/or guests with some mobility impairment there is a ramp giving easier access to the front of the house only. Entrance porch/coat room. Spacious sitting room with open fire and one bag of logs provided, TV with Digital/ Freeview with surround sound stereo, and DVD player. Dining area with extend... Read more
About the Owner, Anna H
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 35 days ago
Listed since : Jan 2010
Overall rating: 4.0 / 5.0
Based on 11 reviews and 1 property
Contact Owner See more properties
Listing #HL1301303
Reviews from our community
Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Caroline...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Coast guards cottage is in a great location. Very close to pubs corner shop harbour and nature reserve. The out door space is excellent, the kids loved it. Unfortunately inside the house it was very cluttered, dated and dirty. I can almost forgive the cluttered mess but not the dirt. I also think it needs to be clear in the...

More
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback, we will continue to make improvements to the house and take your comments on board. Unfortunately we were unable to complete the regular full clean due to your unexpected early arrival at the house.

More

Report response as inappropriate
Jotogo1
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed here for two weeks during August. Loved where the cottage was and the outside space was fantastic. However the inside of the cottage was a let down. It was cluttered with old pieces of furniture that looked like they had come from house clearances. The inside of the windows, window ledges looked like they hadn't been cleaned in...

More
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback, we are looking at addressing your comments.

More

Report response as inappropriate
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

More
Management response:

Thank you for your comments and feedback and do hope you will consider us again in the future. The house has recently undergone a lot of refurbishments and apologise for the residual dust which is continuing to settle following these works. .

More

Report response as inappropriate
Amenities
  • Bunk Beds:(1)
  • Central Heating
  • Cooker
  • Dining Seats (8)
  • Dishwasher
  • Double Beds:(2)
  • Dryer
  • DVD Player
  • Fireplace
  • Freezer
  • Full Baths (1)
  • Grill
  • Hairdryer
  • Highchair
  • Internet Access
  • Iron
  • Kettle
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room Seats (9)
  • Microwave
  • Parking
  • Private Garden
  • Refrigerator
  • Single Beds:(2)
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
  • Toaster
  • TV
  • Washer
  • Wi-Fi
House rules
    Kid-friendly
    Pets not allowed
    Smoking not allowed
Bathrooms
    1 Full bath
Bedrooms
    2 Fulls
    1 Bunk
    2 Twins
Availability
Show Rates
Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Dates Min stay Per night Per week
Default 3 nights
£160
--
4 Nov 2017 -
22 Dec 2017
Low
3 nights
£130
£780
23 Dec 2017 -
29 Dec 2017
High
7 nights --
£960
30 Dec 2017 -
2 Jan 2018
High
3 nights
£160
--
Hide Rates
Map
About the neighbourhood
Rye Harbour Nature reserve is very popular for bird enthusiasts. Crab fishing at the nearby River are a popular activity
Access
Car advised
How to get there
Trains to Ashford and then from Ashford to Rye and local bus to the village (please check transport providers for timetable)
Activities nearby
Fishing Nearby, Nearest Beach: 0.8 km.
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
Initially, you may contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.
How will the owner contact me?
This owner will contact you via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox.
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.
How do I pay?
For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.
Is my payment insured in any way?
Yes. Payments made via the TripAdvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#HL1301303
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
£130
/
Night
Week
Book Now
12 travellers
viewed this property in the past week
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.