We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


22 reviews
Cottage 2 Bedrooms 1 Bathroom Sleeps 4 Pets allowed Save
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England
Heather Cottage is set in a quiet courtyard only minutes walk away from the many shops, pubs and restaurants Ambleside has to offer. The cottage sleeps four in two bedrooms, a cosy retreat for anyone wishing to explore the southern or northern Lake District. Pets are very welcome.
Ecclerigg Place is centrally located in the village of Ambleside and has had an interesting and varied past. Life at Ecclerigg Place started out as the bus station for Ambleside where in bygone days the horses pulled the buses. In more recent times the stables and bus shelters were converted into a printers and now the courtyard has been converted into 7 lakeland stone fronted cottages.
The many amenities of Ambleside are only a short level walk away and from the doorstep a number of scenic rambles can be taken, your car does not need to leave its own private pa...
Listing #FKN2117268
About the Manager, Cottage Holiday Group
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Contact Agent See more properties
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
John W of...
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage was good and in a good location less than 5 minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside. However, after a day or so, the children and I noticed some bites on our legs. By the middle of the week we were getting lots and we realised the house was full of fleas. Not pleasant at all. As there...

Management response:

Good afternoon Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Heather Cottage, Ambleside. We were very sorry that your holiday was slightly spoiled by the discovery of fleas at the property. As it was the very busy school holiday period it was unfortunate that we had no other available property for you to move to. The fleas were...


Report response as inappropriate
Donna B
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
person found this review helpful

great cottage with everything you need plenty big enough for 2 adults and little ones but a tad small for 4 adults. Great having off street parking but was disappointed by no garden for the dog so had to walk the streets at 4am!

Management response:

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Heather Cottage. We are pleased you found the cottage to be well equipped for your stay and benefited from the private car parking space for one car. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed of the lack of garden at Heather Cottage. However, please be aware Lakes Cottage Holidays do...


Report response as inappropriate
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just got back from a week spent in this lovely cottage. We stayed in Juniper cottage 2 doors down last year and loved the cottage and location so booked Heather cottage as it's bigger and we brought our 2 teenage boys with us this year. They were in the smaller room with bunk beds but were very comfortable. Our double...

Management response:

Thank you for your review of Heather Cottage, Ambleside. We are delighted to hear you have chosen to return to Ambleside for your holiday with your family and we are pleased to learn you found Heather Cottage homely and enjoyed the surrounding walks available. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff members when you contacted us with a maintenance...


Report response as inappropriate
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
House rules
Smoking not allowed
Pets allowed
Show Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Dates Min stay Per night Per week
Default 3 nights
29 Apr 2017 -
12 May 2017
3 nights
13 May 2017 -
26 May 2017
7 nights --
27 May 2017 -
2 Jun 2017
7 nights --
View all periods
Hide Rates
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Make Enquiry
40 travellers
viewed this property in the past week
Talk to the Manager
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.