We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SOMERVELL, Applethwaite

Save
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
Studio, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England
Somervell is a characterful apartment situated in the semi rural village of Applethwaite, stunning views can be admired from the lounge and bedrooms.
There are numerous woodland paths which lead directly from Applethwaite onto Skiddaw, the views from which are absolutely breathtaking. The delightful market town of Keswick is only 1.5 miles away where you will find an abundance of shops, pubs and restaurants, the Theatre by the Lake, golf course and beautifully tended parks. Somervell is a fantastic base from which to explore the whole of the Lake District.
Somervell is a delightful spacious apartment situated within Applethwaite Country House, a former gentleman's residence which was built in 1881 and later converted into apartments. The property stands in 2 acres of beautiful mature woodland gardens in an elevated position on the low...
Read more
About the Manager, Cottage Holiday Group
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: Today
Listed since : Jul 2011
Overall rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Based on 2,206 reviews and 435 properties
Contact Agent See more properties
Listing #FKN2117769
Reviews from our community
 of 5 bubbles
4 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nyla M
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My brother won this in a raffle, we were so excited, the pictures and reviews looked amazing. What a shame it was so short lived. The smell of damp as you entered the front door was so pungent, I needed to take my inhlaer. When we got to the first floor, at first glance it looked ok but the carpets...

More
Management response:

Good evening We have no records of you having a booking with Lakes Cottage Holidays for Somervell for August of last year and therefore cannot comment on your review. Kind regards Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

More

Report response as inappropriate
iloveholi...
guildford
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here as a family over October half term week. We arrived late on a Sunday afternoon to a freezing cold house, and discovered the boiler fault light was flashing. We managed to get it working, although it consistently kept cutting out. Unfortunately, despite an engineer coming out on the Tuesday, the problem wasn't resolved, so it is difficult...

More
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Somervell. We are pleased you found the property well appointed, clean and the kitchen was well equipped for your stay. We are sorry to hear there was work happening in a nearby property during your stay, we have checked our records and unfortunately we were not made aware of any works...

More

Report response as inappropriate
hogarthr
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Somervell in July, and had the advantage of some of the best weather that is possible in the Lakes. Our group consisted of me, my wife, my son and his wife, and their two children. The property was the perfect size for us all with 3 bedrooms (2 ensuite) and a further bathroom. The large living room...

More
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback after your stay at Somervell. We are delighted you found Somervell to be a perfect size for your party and enjoyed the views from the property. Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Somervell or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future. Kind Regards, Lakes Cottage Holidays 017687 74060

More

Report response as inappropriate
Amenities
  • Dishwasher
  • Internet Access
  • Iron
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
  • TV
  • Washer
House rules
    Kid-friendly
    Pets not allowed
    Smoking not allowed
Availability
Show Rates
Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Dates Min stay Per night Per week
Default 4 nights
£198
--
1 Apr 2017 -
14 Apr 2017
Default
6 nights
£125
£750
15 Apr 2017 -
21 Apr 2017
Default
7 nights --
£750
22 Apr 2017 -
26 May 2017
Default
7 nights --
£590
View all periods
Hide Rates
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
£125
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
22 travellers
viewed this property in the past week
Talk to the Manager
448455280176
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.