We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakerthorpe Manor

58 reviews
Save
The stunning Manor building from the garden
The lounge is large and airy - with bells to order your tea!
1 of 25The stunning Manor building from the garden
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Overview
8 bedrooms
5 bathrooms
18 guests
2 nights minimum
Manor House
Oakerthorpe Manor is an 19th Century Manor House situated in private grounds, ideal for that getaway from it all with family and friends. With 8 bedrooms, there is plenty of spacious accommodation to cater for a large group. The Manor is approached through electric gates with a long driveway with plenty of parking available. You are likely to see rabbits and squirrels, maybe kestrels owls and the occasional fox! The house has been completely renovated in keeping with its Victorian origins, but also given a contemporary twist, to give you that feeling of splendour and luxury. ...Oakerthorpe Manor is an 19th Century Manor House situated in private grounds, ideal for that getaway from it all with family and friends. With 8 bedrooms, there is plenty of spacious accommodation to cater for a large group. The Manor is approached through electric gates with a long driveway with plenty of parking available. You are likely to see rabbits and squirrels, maybe kestrels owls and the occasional fox! The house has been completely renovated in keeping with its Victorian origins, but also given a contemporary twist, to give you that feeling of splendour and luxury. More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
Guests are asked to take particular care of the original features such as the etched glass doors and servants' bells.
Bathrooms
1 Full bath, 4 Attached (ensuite)
Show more
About the Owner
D D
Languages spoken:English, French
Response Rate:85%
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:March 2007
Write a reviewReviews (58)

1 - 10 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2020

The house is massive, with so much character! Each room is filled with different features etc, which makes the place so exciting! Diane and her son Jordan were so helpful on arrival, and Diane was amazingly chilled and so friendly and welcoming, allowed us to...More

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank Hanager
Reviewed 8 January 2020

I booked this place and the booking was accepted, I paid 1/3 of the price as deposit. After 3 weeks I received a message saying the property was double booked for the weekend I had booked so I would not be able to stay. The...More

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank nickcw123
Poppitai, VR Owner at Oakerthorpe Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2020

Hi Nick, that’s simply not true, is it? I called you and explained that we had made a horrible mistake. I have you my contact number and explained that your refund would be processed by Holiday Lettings, as hosts do not receive any payment until...More

A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Reviewed 5 January 2019

More

Date of stay: December 2018
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Reviewed 10 December 2018 via mobile

More

Date of stay: October 2018
Reviewed 2 November 2018

From first arriving at the property myself and my group were made to feel very welcome, and we loved the property which just seemed to have an endless supply of bedrooms. Couldn't have asked for any more and we can't wait to visit again soon.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Stu A
Fearless435536, VR Owner at Oakerthorpe Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Hi Stu. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're really glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon!

See more reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

We had a great family weekend at oakerthorpe manor 21-23rd September, for my dad's surprise 70th birthday. It was a fantastic venue, very spacious and full of character! However we are having major issues with trying to get our deposit returned, despite no incidents. The...More

Date of stay: September 2018
2  Thank Jessica H
Fearless435536, VR Owner at Oakerthorpe Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Thank you for your review. Per our telephone conversation just now, I do hope that you are able to track down the refund that was made to the account details provided!

Reviewed 8 August 2018

Our third visit to Oakerthorpe Manor! Great location, lots of things to do and would highly recommend the new 'Pesto' restaurant (was The Peacock Pub) just up the road. As always, the house had everything we needed (plenty of glassware and barbecue tools in particular!)....More

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank chriselse2017
Management response:Responded 14 August 2018

Thank you for the review. Lovely to have you all back again and hope to see you again next year...

Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed as a group of friends with kids aged 1-8 in June. The house is huge, bedrooms plenty big enough and more than enough space to absorb the noise of crying babies in the night! There’s ample parking and a great dining space for...More

Date of stay: June 2018
1  Thank Stephanie H
Management response:Responded 6 August 2018

Hello, thank you for leaving your review. We have had some issues with the management of this property - the housekeeper was in fact the manager. We have successfully rented this property for many years, without any problem of the deposit return - please do...More

Reviewed 24 July 2018

The place was ok, a bit tired but clean and we really enjoyed the stay. Unfortunately its now over a month since they stay and I am still chasing for our damages deposit back - 4 emails unanswered. We had to place the £500 deposit...More

Date of stay: June 2018
5  Thank Sarah H
Management response:Responded 6 August 2018

Hello, thank you for leaving your review. I am experiencing some issues with the manager of the property and this is leading to unacceptable delays in the deposit return.Please do contact me on oakerthorpe@live.co.uk and I will attend to any outstanding matters of deposit refund...More

Reviewed 18 July 2018

Stay was fine. House was fine. The fact it is 8 months after our stay and our massive deposit has not been returned is frankly awful. We are the cleanest family ever, it wasn't like we broke anything, we even stripped all ben linen and...More

Date of stay: November 2017
3  Thank RachM318
Management response:Responded 6 August 2018

Hello, I am dumbfounded to read that you have not received your deposit back from October! Please do contact me on oakerthorpe@live.co.uk and I will look into this immediately. Kind Regards, Owner

Amenities
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
DVD Player
Grill
Central Heating
Dishwasher
Fireplace
Freezer
Refrigerator
Game Room
Hairdryer
Highchair
Internet Access
Iron
Kettle
Linens Provided
Microwave
Pool Table
Private Garden
Safe
Secure Parking
Stereo System
Cooker
Toaster
Towels Provided
TV
Washer
Wi-Fi
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
Horse Riding Nearby
Cycling Trips
Hiking Trips
Rural/Countryside Retreats
Short Term Rentals (4 Days Or Fewer)
See more amenities
Availability
June 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
July 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
August 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
November 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
View all months
Map
+
About the neighbourhood
The Peak District is famous for its wonderful scenery and country walks. Close by is Crich, with the Tramway Museum where you can ride on the original trams with conductors in old time uniform. Matlock and Matlock Bath offer a range of activities such as climbing, canoeing, Gulliver's Kingdom Theme Park and amusements for the children. There is also a small aquarium and a cable car across the Derwent Valley. Leisure Centres are in both Alfreton and Matlock, approximately 5km away. Cycle hire along the (flat) High Peak Trail is available. Plenty of good restaurants including Thai, Indian and Italian foods can be found locally. Shopping is available at Derwent Mills, the Cromford Centre and MacArthur Glen.
Access
Car advised
More
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#HL22287822
Frequently Asked Questions about Oakerthorpe Manor

Oakerthorpe Manor is able to accommodate up to 18 guests. See all property details.

Oakerthorpe Manor has 5 bathrooms available. See all property details.

Oakerthorpe Manor has 8 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at Oakerthorpe Manor must last at least 2 nights. See all property details.