We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

WICKHAM HOUSE -The East Wing- a Cosy Countryside Apartment for Two.

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now

Overview
1 bedroom
2 bathrooms
4 guests
Minimum stay varies 
The minimum stay for this property changes depending on the dates selected
Condo/Apartment
The 'East Wing' apartment is situated to the rear of our village located, family house and has it's own independent entrance. The apartment sleeps 2 plus an occasional 2. There is plenty of storage space with a cloakroom and utility area. All the rooms are generously sized and are linked by a corridor being all on the ground floor. It is ideally suited for disabled use and all rooms are well insulated. With rear views onto open meadows, this is a truly peaceful location. There are numerous shops, supermarkets and restaurants (and Pubs), within a 3 mile radius. * Quality fully furnished and equipped accommodation located close to Market Harborough, and Rutland Water (sailing, fishing, cycling and walking). There are two renown birdwatching sites there too. Ideal as a base for touring, R...The 'East Wing' apartment is situated to the rear of our village located, family house and has it's own independent entrance. The apartment sleeps 2 plus an occasional 2. There is plenty of storage space with a cloakroom and utility area. All the rooms are generously sized and are linked by a corridor being all on the ground floor. It is ideally suited for disabled use and all rooms are well insulated. With rear views onto open meadows, this is a truly peaceful location. There are numerous shops, supermarkets and restaurants (and Pubs), within a 3 mile radius. * Quality fully furnished and equipped accommodation located close to Market Harborough, and Rutland Water (sailing, fishing, cycling and walking). There are two renown birdwatching sites there too. Ideal as a base for touring, Rutland, Northamptonshire and Leicestershire (Richard III Museum) and the National Space Centre. Also for business in Corby, Kettering or Leicester. Many Stately homes and numerous gardens, battlefields and castles within easy reach. * Well behave dogs and indeed children are most welcome. * Fully equipped to a high standard and self-contained. * Very private with its own patio, garden and Bar-B-Q area. Storage for cycles. * High speed Wi-Fi and modern entertainment centre.
House Rules
Pet-friendlyKid friendlyNo smoking
Bedrooms
1 King
Bathrooms
1 Half bath1 Attached (ensuite)

Meet the host
Peter W
Hosting since July 2010
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 100%
Response Time: Within a few hours
Interaction with guestsOur policy is to allow our guests there own space, peace, security. and privacy. However Louise and I occupy the main house and so are on hand if required. We will be there to greet you and to explain the workings of the accommodation and equipment but apart from that guests can come and go as and when they please. Well behaved dogs welcome. Please be assured that we have taken all the required steps to ensure our property is Covid safe. Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Contribute
Reviews (43)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
If you have submitted a review for a holiday rental property, we may also ask that you provide us with proof of your stay to ensure that your review is attached to the correct rental property.
Holiday rental reviews collected via the VRBO website (formerly Homeaway) and syndicated to the Tripadvisor website are not currently subject to Tripadvisor’s standard moderation processes.
Learn more about our review moderation.
RAH1960
RAH1960
Market Harborough, United Kingdom2 contributions
10 Week Stay
The simplest review ever for me. I did not want to leave, the place, the hospitality, the surroundings, the privacy and kindness shown. HH
Visited July 2021
Written 16 November 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Stay04043597696
Stay04043597696
Fantastic stay, beautiful location and hosts very welcoming!
The location of Wickham house is perfect! Approx. 2 miles from Market Harborough and set in the beautiful village of Sutton Bassett, which is so peaceful with picturesque views. Wickham house has all the amenities you would require, and is very clean and comfortable. The hosts are extremely welcoming, and could not do enough to ensure we had a perfect stay. We were even left a welcome pack in the fridge, which included eggs, bread, juice, butter and bacon!! We definitely recommend staying at this holiday rental!
Visited March 2020
Written 31 March 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Neil G
Neil G
2 contributions
If you want to get away from it all and relax this is the place for you
We have stayed here 2 years running and found Peter and Louise perfect hosts. Upon arrival we were greeted with basic food items, so for those who have travelled a long way fear not you will not go hungry. The bungalow itself is self contained and has all the luxuries you would expect at home, the kitchen is fully kitted out. There are several places you can visit in the local area, Market Harborough is a 5 minute drive away and has a wealth of parks, shops and restaurants and is proud to be local. We have thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and cannot recommend it highly enough, give it a try you won't be disappointed.
Visited January 2020
Written 16 March 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
oliver315977
oliver315977
Dear Neil and Lesley, thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to be able to cater for you. We hope you have settled into your home again although this isolation thing is pretty grim. We are all going a bit stir crazy. I trust you have the logistical support you need. We do but we don't like asking others to cope for us when we are so used to being independent. Stay healthy and we hope that we will see you in the future. If we are all spared. Very best wishes, Peter and Louise.
Written 3 April 2020. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Culture66479683396
Culture66479683396
1 contribution
Very comfortable place
Good size rooms, well furnished, very comfortable, quiet. Delightful welcome pack. Lovely area at edge of village.
Visited October 2019
Written 9 November 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
oliver315977
oliver315977
Hello again David and Rita, Sorry but I have only just picked up your kind review. Thank you very much for taking the time to complete that for us. It was a pleasure having you to stay and we hope we may see you again in the future after this current unpleasantness, if of course we are spared! Hope you are keeping well. Regards Peter and Louise.
Written 19 March 2020. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Barbara R
Barbara R
2 contributions
Just the place to relax and base for exploring the area
We really liked the area. Some lovely countryside and places to visit. Rutland Water and Foxton Locks particularly. Nice local pubs, shame the one in Sutton Basswtt has closed. Stamford and Market Harborough great for leisurely strolls and lunches. Owners Peter and Louise were very welcoming and thorough, showing us how everything worked in the apartment. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Visited September 2019
Written 7 October 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
oliver315977
oliver315977
Thank you Alan and Barbara for your 4 star review. We enjoyed having you to stay and pleased that you liked the area. We hope we will see you again in the future. Kind regards Peter and Louise.
Written 14 October 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

PHIL J
PHIL J
Hope Island, Australia5 contributions
Excellent Accommodation in a Quite Countryside Location
Back for our eighth consecutive visit, staying in this delightful cottage has now become an annual event for us. We find it so convenient with the lovely old town of Market Harborough less than 10 minutes away and all the beautiful countryside around. The owners Peter and Louise live onsite at the main house next door and are always on hand should any issues arise. A perfect base from which to explore Leicestershire and Northamptonshire, not forgetting near by Rutland with it's county town of Oakham and, of course, the magnificent Rutland Water with it's array of activities and nature. As before it has once again been a pleasure to stay at the cottage.
Visited June 2019
Written 25 September 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
oliver315977
oliver315977
Gooday, to you both. Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage. I have put in your dates for next year and we look forward to welcoming you once more. Very best wishes, Peter and Louise (still hanging in there).
Written 29 September 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Barry575
Barry575
Melbourne, FL3 contributions
Quiet and Peaceful
This was our second year to visit Wickham House, staying for two months both times. The accommodation is 1st class and very comfortable, a home away from home. Peter and Louise are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. Great location surrounded by beautiful countryside, looking forward to our return next year.
Visited April 2019
Written 7 June 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
oliver315977
oliver315977
Dear Marlene and Barry, pleased to hear that you are safely home again and thank you so much for a lovely review. When Phil and Sue check in on Friday I will ask about their airport taxi service to see if I can get an idea of cost for you next time. We had a lovely week's break in Menorca it was great to see sunshine an upper 20s C. please keep in touch. Very best wishes Peter and Louise.
Written 9 June 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Neil G
Neil G
2 contributions
very warm welcome, couldn't do enough for us.
We were greeted by Peter who gave us a quick introduction and allowed us to settle in before coming back with Louise to go through the details of where everything was. We were treated to a welcome pack of food which was very nice, nothing is too much trouble and would thoroughly recommend Wickham House to anyone.
Visited January 2019
Written 20 January 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
oliver315977
oliver315977
Hello Neil and Lesley and of course little Tilley, thank you for your excellent review, I am pleased that you found everything to your liking, we do aim to please! I must say that it was a pleasure having you to stay for those weeks and hope that we can be of assistance in the future. Wishing you health and happiness for the future and will be in touch regarding metal detecting (or not) shortly. Kind regards Peter and Louise.
Written 31 March 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Trevor S
Trevor S
1 contribution
Homely
Nice village, set in stunning countryside and close to attractive towns. The property is nice and clean and quite large. Very warm and cosy. All facilities and nice welcoming pack with bread, milk etc. Owners are kind & helpful. Private parking off road. Premises alarmed for those who worry. Dog friendly.
Visited September 2018
Written 6 October 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
oliver315977
oliver315977
Thank you for your kind comments, and your thank you card with enclosure. We will invest it into 2 more ornamental flower troughs for the Annexe. Hope to see you again. Best wishes, Peter and Louise.
Written 11 October 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Barry575
Barry575
Melbourne, FL3 contributions
Perfect home from home
Perfect countryside peaceful location. The house is very comfortable and extremely clean. The surrounding countryside is very picturesque. Peter and Louise the owners are very friendly and accommodating, nothing is too much trouble for them. We will be returning for another visit.
Visited April 2018
Written 6 June 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
oliver315977
oliver315977
Good morning Marlene and Barry, I didn't receive the usual notification of a published review so I apologise for the delay in responding. Despite the weather and hire car problems we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward very much to seeing you in 2019 and catching up with world affairs etc. Very best wishes, Peter and Louise.
Written 12 June 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 43

What this rental offers
Outdoor amenities
  • Patio
  • Private yard
Entertainment
  • DVD player
  • Stereo system
  • Television
Indoor amenities
  • Central heating
  • Internet access
  • Cable television
Wi-fi and internet
  • Wi-fi
Nearby
  • Golf course (within 30 mins drive)
  • Horse riding facilities
  • Tennis court
  • Hiking areas
  • Countryside area
Kitchen and dining
  • Grill
  • Freezer
  • Refrigerator
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Cooker
  • Toaster
Things to do
  • Fishing spots available
  • Watersports
  • Cycling areas
Services
  • Housekeeping included
Parking
  • Secure parking available
Bathroom and laundry
  • Dryer
  • Iron
  • Linens provided
  • Towels provided
  • Washer

Availability
M
T
W
T
F
S
S

February 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24

March 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S

Map
About the neighbourhood
Market Harborough is just 2 miles from us. It is a compact, bustling town. It was established in medieval times. Market Harborough today is a lovely place to visit, browse and shop, it has a tremendous selection of restaurants, cafes, bars and pubs and an indoor and outdoor market. For activities, Rutland Water is nearby. Foxton locks consists of a magnificent flight of 10 immaculate working lock gates with a museum and posh pub. Canals abound. In addition this region offers all things to all men, historic sites, interesting towns and attractive villages. Many first class and value for money places to eat. And being close to several major towns Northampton, Leicester and Kettering means that there is plenty to do, visit and shop.
Getting around
We do recommend that our residents do have a car, although a local bus service passes our door although the service is not very frequent. The Main line station at Market Harborough (2.5 miles) provides trains to Leicester, Nottingham and London (60mins.) A local taxi service too is available.
Access
Car required
How to get there
Located in the village of Sutton Bassett just 2 miles north east of Market Harborough on the B664 - just off the A6, 7 miles North of the A14, junction 3. Market Harborough station runs an hourly service to London, approx. 58 minutes. East Midlands Airport, Luton Airport. Stansted Airport. Each have budget carriers including Ryanair, Easyjet and BMI Baby. If you have your own car then we have ample on-site parking (and it's FREE!)
Activities nearby
Fishing spots availableGolf course (within 30 mins drive)Horse riding facilitiesTennis courtWatersports

Things to know
Check in / out timings
Check in after 3 pm Check out by 10 am
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available once booking is confirmed
Notes from owner
For stays over 2 weeks we offer a negotiable discount..... especially suiting CORPORATE SHORT TERM LETS or couples temporarily between homes. An affordable alternative to hotel accommodation. Rates include heating, hot water, electricity, linen, towels and council tax etc. We service and clean the apartment and change all linen weekly. We do accept 4 day mini breaks but only at short notice - prices on request. For Christmas week please enquire, rates differ. We require a 25% deposit on booking, non-refundable if cancelled less than 21 days before arrival, the balance being due on arrival. Bank transfer, Cash or cheques only. Change over day, Friday please. Well behaved dogs accepted by arrangement.

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.


Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.

This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/HL_Supplier_Logo.svg   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #HL222127491

Frequently Asked Questions about WICKHAM HOUSE -The East Wing- a Cosy Countryside Apartment for Two.

WICKHAM HOUSE -The East Wing- a Cosy Countryside Apartment for Two. is able to accommodate up to 4 guests. See all property details.

WICKHAM HOUSE -The East Wing- a Cosy Countryside Apartment for Two. has 2 bathrooms available. See all property details.

WICKHAM HOUSE -The East Wing- a Cosy Countryside Apartment for Two. has one bedroom available. See all property details.

WICKHAM HOUSE -The East Wing- a Cosy Countryside Apartment for Two. - UPDATED 2024 - Holiday Rental in Market Harborough - Tripadvisor