We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beach Sun Home Guaranteed 'Sunshine' 24/7 with sauna, cinema and boutique rooms

Save
Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now

Overview
8 bedrooms
8 bathrooms
15 guests
3 nights minimum 
Villa
'Sunshine 247365', as featured in the Guardian and the Daily Mail Beach Sun Retreat uniquely offers the 'perfect beach and summer holiday' with guaranteed sunbathing 365 days a year! A former seaside hotel, the property has been refurbished to an exceptional standard to provide a stylish, one off and spacious holiday retreat, nestled in a quiet location at the end of a private road, with a large lawned garden and direct private access from the side of the house to the sandy beach. The retreat is one of the first in the country, alongside The Holistic Medical Centre in Harley Street and Grange St Pauls 5* Hotel, to have installed 'Real Sunlight's' innovative health-giving sun simulators. The sun room is part of the St Tropez-style large living area and provides a multi sensory tropical ...'Sunshine 247365', as featured in the Guardian and the Daily Mail Beach Sun Retreat uniquely offers the 'perfect beach and summer holiday' with guaranteed sunbathing 365 days a year! A former seaside hotel, the property has been refurbished to an exceptional standard to provide a stylish, one off and spacious holiday retreat, nestled in a quiet location at the end of a private road, with a large lawned garden and direct private access from the side of the house to the sandy beach. The retreat is one of the first in the country, alongside The Holistic Medical Centre in Harley Street and Grange St Pauls 5* Hotel, to have installed 'Real Sunlight's' innovative health-giving sun simulators. The sun room is part of the St Tropez-style large living area and provides a multi sensory tropical haven where guests can top up their tan and feel fabulous since it is beneficial against a whole host of health conditions such as SAD, stress, arthritis, skin problems, sleeping disorders, Vitamin D deficiency and so on. Whether it is enjoying playing celebrity chef with the 7+hob range cooker, spinning the high end vinyl decks as a superstar DJ, or relaxing in front of a great movie in the authentic cinema room featuring a 3D TV, velvet cinema seats and popcorn machine, guests will have a great time in this house! For an excellent night's sleep, fully unwind in the boutique-style individually-designed bedrooms featuring 3 king size bedrooms with en suite bathrooms and hand carved marble fireplaces plus 1 double, 3 twin bedrooms with en suite facilities, and 1 single bedroom. There is also a family bathroom for the double and single bedroom guests to share. Sumptuous linen and towels are provided. For those that can bear to leave the house, it is an ideal base to enjoy Kent's many attractions. Sandy beaches, rolling countryside, picturesque villages, historic Canterbury, port of Dover and the Channel Tunnel are all within easy reach. The upper floors are unoccupied so visitors will have sole occupancy of the house and garden. Shop and pub within 500 yards. Our changeover days are Mondays and Fridays. The house is available for 3 night weekend stays with arrival on Friday as well as 4 night mid week stays with arrival on Monday. 7 night plus longer stays are also welcome. Occasionally we can offer discounts for mid week 4 night stays so please do inquire :)
House Rules
Pet-friendlyKid friendlyNo smoking
No more than 15 guests. No noisy parties or gatherings that would disturb our neighbours. Please only park on the drive or the gravelled area not on the street. Thanks so much for your cooperation.
Bedrooms
3 Kings1 Double1 Bunk5 Singles
Bathrooms
1 Half bath2 Full baths5 Attached (ensuite)

Meet the host
Louise / Karl G
Hosting since July 2011
Languages spoken: English, Swedish
Response Rate: 75%
Response Time: Within a day
Interaction with guestsWhere possible we'll meet you to show you around but we can also offer a handy self check in facility. The code will be provided a few days before arrival. We are always on hand by phone to help but otherwise leave you to enjoy your stay.

Contribute
Reviews (69)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
If you have submitted a review for a holiday rental property, we may also ask that you provide us with proof of your stay to ensure that your review is attached to the correct rental property.
Holiday rental reviews collected via the VRBO website (formerly Homeaway) and syndicated to the Tripadvisor website are not currently subject to Tripadvisor’s standard moderation processes.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Linnende15
Linnende15
47 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
THE CAMERA NEVER LIES
Mixed generational family stayed from 18th to 25th August 2023 THE GOOD The house is in a lovely residential area close to an amazing sandy beach and within walking distance of Dymchurch town. The house is very spacious and perfect for large family gatherings. It is very clear that a lot of time, thought and effort has gone into this holiday home, the boutique rooms are very unique in appearance. The decor throughout the home is beautiful and the whole concept of having an indoor beach with all year sun is amazing. Gorgeous high thread white bedding provided, which added to the luxurious feel. All the beds are very comfortable and have that home from home feel. Lovely thick white bath towels provided. The sauna room is a really nice touch. What initially sold the holiday for us was the beautiful and spacious BBQ area, which looks amazing in the pictures. It was my 60th Birthday and our intention was to have a family BBQ to celebrate. THE BAD On arrival, we were very disappointed to see the wheelie bins over flowing to the brim and rubbish over the front garden. Seagulls having a feast on the rubbish. We were greeted at the front door with a rogue used tea bag on the floor and rotten apples everywhere including in the fish pond. The furniture and tables had not been cleaned. On entering the building. Superficially, everywhere looked clean and tidy. On closer inspection we could see that the house was not very clean at all. All the bins in the bedroom ensuites were full of the previous tenants rubbish. The wooden floors were gritty and dusty and clearly hadn’t seen a hoover or mop in a while. The shower head in our Bling room was thick with dust and grime, as was the free standing baths and under the beds. My heart sank when I went into the massage room, which we had planned to use. This room no longer exists and had been transformed into a laundry storage room. I was presented with what looked like soiled Laundry in bags on the floor. The outside areas near the sauna room and BBQ had clearly been neglected as there were weeds everywhere and the white gravel paths were dirty and had algae growing. Our bedroom window was taped up outside with silver tape. Some of the specialist lights did not work properly. The bar area has a chest freezer which had not been defrosted in a long time and also contained old bags of opened ice cubes. Behind the freezer was filthy and lots of party hats, streamers etc. The bar itself was incredibly sticky. THE UGLY On closer inspection of the kitchen we could see that it was filthy, sticky and grimy. Also posed a health hazard. The extractor fan was thick with dirt and grease and clearly hadn’t been cleaned in a very long time. This was surely a fire hazard. The cooker was disgusting, black grease and crumbs, The fire extinguisher and extractor fan switch were both covered in old food. The kitchen utensils and cutlery were covered in food. Many of the pans had broken or loose handles. The roasting pans were rusty and we ended up buying disposable roasting tins. Old outdated food, spices and sauces left in the cupboards which left no space to put our items. The work tops were very sticky and clearly had not been cleaned professionally. There was a large glitter ball in the ceiling which fell down. Lucky no-one was injured. It was clear that it had not been fixed correctly and in accordance with manufacturer guidelines (these were on a label attached to the ball). Three holes in the ceiling indicating previous attempts to install this were visible. There were also some visible bare electric wires hanging from the ceiling were some other electrical fitting had once been. It was clearly obvious that general maintenance was lacking and some of these issues do present a real health and safety risk to guests. The outside BBQ area was the biggest disappointment for me. Everything, including the seating area was absolutely covered in dead leaves, bird excrement and algae. The BBQ itself was not fit for purpose, was dirty and rusty, just disgusting and clearly hadn’t been used in a while. The seating area was disgusting and did not represent what was in the pictures. I was so disappointed and upset. As a family, we never used the BBQ area and my 60th Birthday celebration BBQ never went ahead. In-between the cushions of the sofas they were full of dirt, food debris, dust, grime, hair etc. The overhead ornamental sail canopies in the main communal area were filthy, dusty and had old party decorations. I guess that summarises the standard. CONCLUSION After reporting our concerns shortly after arrival the owner contacted us and offered to send cleaners back the following day. We did refuse this offer because it would have taken more than one day or a few hours to properly deep clean the kitchen and it would also have further disrupted the holiday. If it had of been just my husband and I, we would have left immediately, but because our whole family (sons and grandchildren) were joining us, all from various parts of the UK, this was simply not possible. We cleaned as best we could. By now the holiday was ruined. Another point to note is the fact we were presented with new terms & conditions 5 days before the arrival date. These new terms were about noise pollution. Basically, if we refused to sign then the holiday would have been cancelled without any refund. How fair is that 5 days beforehand! We raised a formal complaint when we returned home. This complaint was only ever answered after we chased for a reply. Eventually, after many weeks, we accepted an offer of compensation to reflect the whole experience but I believe that was only possible because of our real threat to commence legal action. So, much of what the owner had to say involved blaming others, the cleaner, the caretaker (who had only been employed 5 days previously) rather than taking ownership himself. If you are going to be in the business of holiday rentals, then it’s your responsibility to ensure your guests get what is offered and to have proper systems in place to ensure the property is ‘as advertised’ and fit for purpose. This was not a cheap holiday and we were happy to pay for the best, we had booked 16 months in advance. Unfortunately that is not what we got, we felt ripped off and very disappointed. I believe by the lack of recent feedback, that sadly we are not alone!
Visited August 2023
Written 7 October 2023. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Keith G
Keith G
London, United Kingdom35 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Multi-Generational Break
We hired the house for a multi generational break (ages from 4months to 90!). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the beds were extremely comfortable with the exception of the top bedroom where the mattress is on the floor due to ceiling height. The downstairs open plan sitting/diner and sun room with doors opening out onto the back courtyard was ideal for a large family group and we could easily sit down for meals together. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed. This house is ideally situated right by the sea wall with easy access to the beach which the children especially enjoyed! It is a short walk into Dymchurch centre. We did have a couple of issues when we first arrived however these were very quickly resolved by the owner. We stayed in the house for 1 week and the storage options for hanging clothes etc was an issue. Most of the bedrooms did not have drawers and the wardrobes were very small. They would be sufficient for a weekend stay. The linen and towels were good quality however it would be useful to have a hand towel in each bathroom. The reason why I have only given this 4 stars is due to cleanliness. We found a couple of bins in bathrooms had not been emptied and there were other items that appeared to have been forgotten I.e finger marks on dining chairs and bar stools, stains on the cushion on egg chair.
Visited August 2023
Written 3 September 2023. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

iandawes2018
iandawes2018
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Leave your stress at the door
Stopped here with 13 members of the family for a long weekend, very quirky house, very quirky bedrooms, one or two issues on arrival soon sorted though, great location next to a stunning beach great walks for the dogs, the house does what it says on the tin will visit again
Visited August 2021
Written 24 August 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Georgina Tapley
Georgina Tapley
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Family stay- Dirty & broken falling apart house
really disappointed with the cleanliness and the general maintenance. In really poor condition, house has so much potential but dirty and so many things broken. Cigarette burns in ALL of the outdoor seating cushions. Everything is overgrown, covered in weeds. Moved the outdoor sofa to find bride to be sash. Great for hen do but NOT for a family.
Visited August 2021
Written 6 August 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Curiosity478780
Curiosity478780
Thanks for your helpful review. As you may recall after your tirade of complaints at checkin you were given the option to leave and have a full refund or to stay whereupon we offered a substantial discount and worked very hard to address your complaints. You chose to have a discount which we duly paid and yet you continue to level accusations in the most unpleasant way. We are sorry you didn’t have a nice time and do hope the rest of your summer has gone well.
Written 22 August 2021. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lee H
Lee H
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
50th Birthday retreat
My wife booked this venue for a birthday getaway to be with family and friends. From the moment of arrival at the door you knew this place was going to get rid of all the stress in life and make the weekend wonderful. Well we were not disappointed. From the sun room giving you 3 different locations to the cinema room for your evenings films. Every bedroom was amazing and the lounge area perfect. You are right next to the sea wall so withing seconds you are staring at the sandy beach. This place is a 100% recommendation. We will be back for sure. Life is easy here let the stress just flow away.
Visited March 2020
Written 23 March 2020. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Debbie Stockford
Debbie Stockford
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Weekend away
Had a really lovely weekend in the beach House retreat. The house is absolutely amazing, very quirky! All 11 of us loved it! Great attention to detail, loved all the touches! Loved the sun room, didn’t know Bali and Mauritius were so close to Dymchurch! Great party house Thanks again
Visited September 2019
Written 17 September 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Curiosity478780
Curiosity478780
Thanks so much Debbie. So pleased to hear you enjoyed yourselves. Where else can enjoy Bali and Mauritius whilst staying in Dymchurch! Hope we can welcome you back another time. Sunny regards Louise, Karl, Lee and Minnie
Written 17 September 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

vicgardner
vicgardner
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great Stay
Fantastic long weekend at the sun retreat. Quirky, unique and full of character the sun retreat didn't disappoint. Perfect for large groups like ours. Great location, flexible about our arrival time and last minute addition of our dog - all made for a stress free break.
Visited July 2019
Written 31 July 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Curiosity478780
Curiosity478780
Thanks so much Vicky. So pleased to hear you had a great time. Please come back and visit us again. Sunny regards and many thanks Louise, Karl, Lee and Minnie
Written 1 August 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Barbara W
Barbara W
Stowmarket, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic fun house by the sea.
We rented this beautiful house with five double bedrooms all en-suite , and two single rooms, to celebrate my husbands 70th birthday. The grandchildren loved the beach and the easy access from the house. We had over 30 guests for a lunch party in the garden all bringing their own folding chairs. Everyone loved the venue and the food provided by Ruth from The Bistro was excellent. Later in the week my husbands siblings arrived with partners and the house easily accommodated 13 of us. The house is comfortable and well equipped with bed linen and towels of a high standard. Any queries were quickly responded to by Louise or Lee . Cook ready meals delivered meals as did The Fine Cheese Company. There’ is a Sainsbury’s only a few miles away and within 10 minutes walk from the house is a Tesco Express. Of course the Sun Room, the television/cinema room and the Party room with incredible sound system are perfect for parties and caters for all weathers. Karl is a man with some vision and has created a wonderful environment for fun for all age groups. A memorable week. Thank you
Visited July 2019
Written 21 July 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Curiosity478780
Curiosity478780
Thanks so much Barbara. We’re so pleased that you and your family had a wonderful time celebrating your husband’s birthday at this special house. Karl in particular will be thrilled by your comments. Thanks once again. We hope we can welcome you back another time. Sunny regards Louise
Written 22 July 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Cherry T
Cherry T
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing!
We stayed at the house for a long weekend to celebrate a 50th Birthday. The house is amazing .... I’d be here all day trying to explain, so quite simply it’s amazing! Go see for yourself. Good location - pub within walking distance does good food and has a wide selection of gins! We also had a chef come in to cook on the Saturday night (recommended by Louise) and the food was great. One friend said the dessert was the best he’d ever had!
Visited March 2019
Written 27 March 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Curiosity478780
Curiosity478780
Thanks Cherry. So pleased you had a great time. Come back and visit us again soon! Sunny regards Louise and Karl
Written 28 March 2019. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Elaineorbit
Elaineorbit
London, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Super sunny house with lots of amazing extras.
We had a fantastic time at the Beach Retreat which had everything we needed and more for a fantastic, holiday, break, special and memorable occasion. The themes rooms were beautiful. The Miami, Mauritius and Bali safe sun bathing makes this house really unique along with the lighting, cinema(dvd and 3D glasses available) sound system and bar. Would certainly recommending and hope to return in the future. Many many thanks.
Visited February 2019
Written 25 February 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-10 of 69

What this rental offers
Nearby
  • Golf course (within 30 mins drive)
  • Horse riding facilities
  • Countryside area
Things to do
  • Fishing spots available
  • Watersports
  • Cycling areas
Living spaces
  • Highchair
Bathroom and laundry
  • Dryer
  • Iron
  • Linens provided
  • Towels provided
  • Washer
Parking
  • Parking available
Kitchen and dining
  • Grill
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Refrigerator
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Cooker
  • Toaster
Indoor amenities
  • Central heating
  • Internet access
Additional amenities
  • Sauna
Wi-fi and internet
  • Wi-fi
Scenic views
  • Waterfront views
Outdoor amenities
  • Patio
  • Private yard
Location features
  • Waterfront location
Location info
  • Beachfront/Lakeside
Entertainment
  • DVD player
  • Stereo system
  • Television

Availability
M
T
W
T
F
S
S

April 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
15
16
17
18
22
23
24
25
29
30
1
2

May 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
29
30
1
2
6
7
8
9
13
14
15
16
20
21
22
23

Map
About the neighbourhood
Dymchurch is a small village situated on the coast in between Hythe and New Romney. It has a fantastic beach, a children's fairground, some shops, pubs and restaurants. Further afield in Camber there is another great beach and some fabulous restaurants as well as the quaint towns of Tenterden and Rye.
Getting around
To explore the area it would be best to have a car but there are trains serving most destinations.
Access
Car advised
How to get there
Train: from London Kings Cross/St Pancras to Westenhanger (takes under an hour with a change in Ashford) Car: 5 miles from Jn 11 M20, 1.5 hrs from central London Plane: Lydd Airport is 15 mins away Ferry: Board at Dover Eurotunnel: 7 miles away (J12 M20) Eurostar: Board at Ashford Stansted airport 95 miles Gatwick airport 75 miles Heathrow airport 95 miles
Activities nearby
Fishing spots availableGolf course (within 30 mins drive)Horse riding facilitiesWatersports

Things to know
Check in / out timings
Check in after 3 pm Check out by 10 am
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • No refund available once booking is confirmed
Notes from owner
Our changeover days are Mondays and Fridays. Prices listed are indicative and sometimes we can offer last-minute

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.

This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.

For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.

Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.


Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.

This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/HL_Supplier_Logo.svg   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #HL222174840

Frequently Asked Questions about Beach Sun Home Guaranteed 'Sunshine' 24/7 with sauna, cinema and boutique rooms

Beach Sun Home Guaranteed 'Sunshine' 24/7 with sauna, cinema and boutique rooms is able to accommodate up to 15 guests. See all property details.

Beach Sun Home Guaranteed 'Sunshine' 24/7 with sauna, cinema and boutique rooms has 8 bathrooms available. See all property details.

Beach Sun Home Guaranteed 'Sunshine' 24/7 with sauna, cinema and boutique rooms has 8 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at Beach Sun Home Guaranteed 'Sunshine' 24/7 with sauna, cinema and boutique rooms must last at least 3 nights. See all property details.

Beach Sun Home Guaranteed 'Sunshine' 24/7 with sauna, cinema and boutique rooms - UPDATED 2024 - Holiday Rental in Dymchurch - Tripadvisor