We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The minimum stay for this property changes depending on the dates selected
No. 2 Stippy Stappy is a delightful traditional stone cottage with a newly modernised cosy interior, attractive enclosed garden and modern amenities. The Stippy Stappy is a historical row of nine famous Grade II Listed 18th century cottages in the heart of St Agnes heading down a wooded valley. No. 2 is well positioned near the top of Stippy Stappy placing it close to all the town's popular amenities including the independent shops and award winning places to eat. Local surfing beach is five minutes walk away and has both rock pools and fine sand at low tide.
Accommodation is beautifully furnished and full of character with many of it's original features remaining. It comprises of a good sized dual aspect living room equipped with new modern furniture and technology with an eating area fo...No. 2 Stippy Stappy is a delightful traditional stone cottage with a newly modernised cosy interior, attractive enclosed garden and modern amenities. The Stippy Stappy is a historical row of nine famous Grade II Listed 18th century cottages in the heart of St Agnes heading down a wooded valley. No. 2 is well positioned near the top of Stippy Stappy placing it close to all the town's popular amenities including the independent shops and award winning places to eat. Local surfing beach is five minutes walk away and has both rock pools and fine sand at low tide.
Accommodation is beautifully furnished and full of character with many of it's original features remaining. It comprises of a good sized dual aspect living room equipped with new modern furniture and technology with an eating area for four. Also available is free fast wifi, and complimentary games, books and DVD's, highchair and cot. The kitchen is modern and well equipped. The entrance hall with stairs leads to two upstairs bedrooms and a large modern family bathroom with bath and shower cubicle. All linen and towels provided (beds made up for arrival, please bring own cot sheets).
No. 2 Stippy Stappy is just a 5 minute walk to Trevaunance Cove, a large sandy beach at the foot of St. Agnes. Perfect for families, it’s great for rock-pools, surfing, and an evening drink as the sun goes down. The beautiful National Trust beach at Chapel Porth is only 2 miles away. At low tide you can walk from Chapel to Porthtowan beach. Perranporth beach (3.5miles) is huge and family/surfer friendly, Godrevy point (13 miles) is home to seal colonys where dolphins/porpoises are often seen.
Newquay airport 35 minutes by car. Truro is 15 minutes by car and has a main line train station.
Perranporth 4.5 miles, Truro 9 miles, Newquay 12 miles, St Ives 16 miles, Falmouth 13 miles, Gardens of Heligan and Eden project 20 miles, Lands End 28 miles.
We believe Aggie has everything. It's one of the most wonderful and vibrant communities in Cornwall.
An unspoilt spot on the North Cornish coast within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and a World Heritage Site. It’s home to some of the most beautiful beaches in Cornwall and it’s got access to some stunning coast paths and walks. The town is full of independent shops, businesses and great places to eat.
No. 2 Stippy Stappy's location means you can enjoy the best food and drink St Agnes has to offer without needing to get in your car. Here’s a selection of our local favourites:
The Taphouse is lively and serves good food seven days a week.
Genki is a lovely little beach hut with a license to chill less than 5 minutes away. Smoothies, cakes, paninis, fresh salads, tapas and beer and wine are all available and the best barista coffee in St Agnes.
Driftwood Spars has open fires and stunning ale from their own award winning microbrewery just yards from Trevaunance Cove.
Schooners beach front restaurant is a relaxed restaurant with the best views over Trevaunance Cove, serving big flavour small plates and craft ales and wine
The St. Agnes Hotel is family run 17th century restaurant just a few yards away.
Taste - In the centre of St Agnes and rated very highly by our regular guests!
St Agnes Bakery has been baking fresh bread and pasties in the village since 1905. Four doors up from 2 Stippy Stappy
Cornish Pizza Company does gourmet pizzas with locally sourced toppings.
Traditional fish and chips from Fission Chips again, a few doors up from the cottage.
Self catering is simple as there’s loads of local shops to cater for what ever you need within 100m with some open until 10.30pm daily. There's the excellent Churchtown Fruit and Veg, butchers, Boots and newsagent. There is a Sainsburys, Tesco and Morrisons all within 5 miles.
If you fancy a surf lesson there’s more space to learn and enjoy surfing the beaches around here than heading up the coast to Newquay.
We are delighted to be offering a weeks stay in our cottage to the children's cancer charity, Henry's Holiday help. This charity is very close to our heart and we are happy to be able to help raise funds by offering the cottage as a holiday prize.
Parking: Like the majority of cottages in the centre of St Agnes we do not have private parking. There are four spaces on the roadside directly outside with space to unload. These spaces become available regularly as they are often used whilst people pop into the bakery a few doors up. Alternatively there are many roads nearby with free parking. Our preference is Trevaunace road less than 100 yards away where there is a always lots of roadside parking. There is also a large pay and display car park in the centre of the village, 2-3 mins walk from the cottage.The cottage is on a one way street. The town of St Agnes is hilly and no 2 Stippy Stappy is located on Town Hill at the top of the row of cottages that step steeply down the hillside.
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
If you have submitted a review for a holiday rental property, we may also ask that you provide us with proof of your stay to ensure that your review is attached to the correct rental property.
Holiday rental reviews collected via the VRBO website (formerly Homeaway) and syndicated to the Tripadvisor website are not currently subject to Tripadvisor’s standard moderation processes.
The most amazing location in the most beautiful village.
We have stayed at No2 Stippy Stappy twice now and there is a reason we are repeat visitors. This little house on Stippy Stappy has everything you would need for a self catering break away. Big enough to comfortably sleep 4 with a double bed and 2 singles, a good sized lounge area and a kitchen with all utensils, pots and pans you could hope for. The bathroom is larger than you would think, with a separate bath and shower and the garden is a lovely space too. Our best feature, when we visit in the winter is the open fire. There is nothing better than coming back from the pub, lighting the fire and cosying up for the evening.
Nestled in the village of St Agnes, the Aggy pub is a stones throw away with Rattler on draft, great pub food and a lovely atmosphere. We always feel welcomed when we come back to the village (my husbands home town where he grew up). Also on the doorstep is the famous St Agnes Bakery - try their pasties and heavy cake!! Carr Butchers serving the best steaks and sausages around is just up the road there are various other little boutique shops, a Spar, convenience store and a little deli.
We like to visit in the winter season, when it's quieter. You can't beat getting wrapped up and going for a walk down Chapel Porth beach with your pooch, round (or up) the Beacon (especially at night when it's a clear sky) or a potter through Jericho Valley. Lots of walks on your doorstop yet only 20 mins from Truro or 40 minutes from places like Falmouth, St Just on the Roseland, St Mawes, Porthleven and many other beautiful places to visit.
Sarah, who owns the property attends to every need and is a pleasure to communicate with.
Will we stay again!? Absolutely. We can't wait to book and plan our next visit.
Visited November 2021
Written 3 December 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lymington, United Kingdom2 contributions
Charming cottage in a great location
We had the most wonderful stay at 2 Stippy Stappy. As the town my father grew up in, we visit St Agnes at least once a year to see family, usually split between relative's homes. This was the first time we decided to hire a cottage in the village and it was exactly what we'd hoped for.
The cottage is in a great spot, situated centrally in the village. This means it's perfectly located for popping out for groceries, to the bakery or just browsing the shops. For such a small village, there's an amazing array of restaurants and pubs. Due to covid we decided to avoid eating in anywhere but enjoyed takeaway pizza from the Cornish Pizza Co, pasties from the bakery and lunches from Canteen at Wheal Kitty. While we didn't visit on this trip, we can also vouch for the quality local pubs! We also loved being able to pop down to the beach and meander along the clifftops in the mornings. There's a wealth of walks you can do directly from the cottage.
We didn't find the steep hill of Stippy Stappy an issue. Number 2 is a the top of the hill so you don't have to carry your luggage far. We also were fortunate that we often found parking in the spaces across the road, and whenever this wasn't available we found spots not far away.
Sarah was an amazing host, always so communicative and generous. When the cottage was cleaned and vacant before our arrival, she offered for us to arrive a day early. She also showed consideration for the local community and helped make sure our trip was conducted safely in the times of covid.
The property was spotless when we arrived and when we had questions about a possible plumbing issue, a housekeeper and a plumber were organised to come and investigate the same day. (No problem in the end!) The water switch wasn't an issue for us. Sarah messaged us before our arrival to ensure we were aware of it and its a very easy system to manage. There's also a comprehensive guide for the cottage and the local area sent prior to arrival and another kept within the property.
The cottage itself was beautifully put together and well kitted out for cooking in the kitchen. We loved spending time there around Christmas, it was very cosy and comfortable. Sarah was kind enough to welcome our dog also and the garden was great for her to explore!
We would love to stay at 2 Stippy Stappy again and hope to be back within the year :-) Thank you Sarah!
Visited December 2020
Written 3 January 2021. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Bishopville, MD1 contribution
This is a beautiful, historic cottage located on a very steep pathway on a busy road. There is no designated parking and the closest parking is up a very steep road and down another street which is about a 10 minute walk. On a clear day this is not a problem but we had to walk in a down pour up and down the steep roadway and down the steep pathway which was covered in wet leaves and very slippery. If you decide to stay here I suggest you wear rugged foot wear at all times.
The interior of the home is nicely furnished. The owner does not turn the water on for her arriving guests. When you realize that there is no water, It is up to the guest to locate the instructions for turning on the water in the cottage manual.
This is a historic building that has been renovated nicely inside however, when you get to the top of the stairs you will reach a small landing with 3 doorways that you must step up into. If you want to go into the bathroom from one of the 2 bedrooms you must step down out of one room and then up into the other. This is a bit tricky in the middle of the night since you are literally at the top of a steep and narrow stairway.
I write this review so that others will be prepared for the little quirks that this property has. The welcome letter we received from the owner stated that "...there is parking for four cars on the right side of the roadside. Park here and you'll see Stippy Stappy immediately to your left. No.2..." There were several service vehicles parked in those spaces which never moved during our entire stay. There is no # 2 anywhere on the property so we walked up and down the steep pathway in the pouring rain and finally decided to try the lock box to get inside.
St Agnes is a beautiful spot but when we return we will look for a property that offers more convenient parking and a safer layout.
Visited October 2019
Written 12 November 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Only just seen this as this individual did not book via Holiday lettings / Trip Adviser but through another advertising platform. After 7 years of advertising our beautiful cottage to amazing holiday makers through multiple portals and with 99% 5 star reviews it was with much upset that these "guests" tried to cancel their booking on the day of arrival even before they entered the cottage. They were unhappy that there is not private parking attached to the terrace cottage. Although there are a multitude of free parking options around the village, they announced on their arrival in the rain, they did not wish to get wet walking from their car to the cottage. Additionally they were disappointed that the cottage is situated on a hill - hence the name Stippy Stappy, and as such wished to cancel. We do not advertise that the cottage is suitable to disabled users. In 6 years we have not had other concerns raised from guests that they found the cottage hard to locate number two in a row of nine. Nor issues with guests pushing one button to start the automatic water switch (an eco device to reduce water output in the event of leaking pipes or flooding, and a requirement of our insurers). Even though we offered these guests a full refund on day of arrival at their request, they were upset as the village was too busy for their liking. Sadly, they were not able to find anywhere else to stay, after arriving in peak holiday season. We wish them well in finding future accommodation which is suited to their needs and peace and happiness. It is clear from their user account on an alternative site that they regularly discredit others.
Written 24 February 2020. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
We stayed for a week at no 2 stippy stappy and it was really fantastic. We have stayed at this cottage several times before and love it more each time.
The cottage is fitted with all mod cons and so makes for a very comfortable stay.
It is in a fantastic location in the village and walking distance to the beach. We mainly walked everywhere instead of using the car. St Agnes is a lovely picturesque village to stay in and the locals both in Stippy Stappy row of cottages and within the village are very friendly. I wholly recommend staying at no 2 stippy stappy-you won't be disappointed!
Visited April 2019
Written 25 April 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Really nice comfy cottage in the heart of the village and steeped in history. St Agnès is a very friendly village with plenty of kind local Cornish people. Cottage could be a bit dark and gloomy in wet weather but we were able to enjoy nice private garden at the back in amazing weather.The coast path around here is part of the best we have done. A perfect holiday on every way. Many thanks.
Visited July 2018
Written 26 July 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thanks Polly for taking the time to write a review, and so pleased you had a good summer holiday. We are really lucky, the cottage isn't dark or gloomy and we have many repeat winter guests who confirm that! Thankfully we have lovely large sash windows in all rooms, so even if it is wet outside, it is warm, bright and cosy inside. Have a safe journey home, and thanks for your five star review, we really appreciate it. Sarah
Written 26 July 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom29 contributions
Fantastic find in St Agnes
We are coming to the end of our stay in no. 2 Stippy Stappy and have already booked again for next year. We could not speak highly enough of all aspects of this holiday rental. The owner correspondence, the quality and cleanliness and surrounding area are all fantastic. St Agnes is an unspoilt Cornish town with great amenities, including a very good pub, the Tap House, just 5mins walk from Stippy. The holiday cottage itself is idyllic and much painted and photographed by local artists. It is very well furnished to a high quality with everything you need to enjoy your stay. We have stayed in a number of good holiday rentals and have to say that Stippy is the cleanest we have visited. I would highly recommend this property for a stay on the north coast of Cornwall.
Visited July 2018
Written 20 July 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Thank you Nick for this lovely review, your comments mean so much to us as we want exactly what you have described, a place to stay that feels like home, is clean and welcoming to return to after a day out. Holidays are so special to us as a family and it honestly fills me with so much joy when I read that another family has enjoyed and loves Stippy Stappy and St Agnes. Thank you for choosing the cottage as your base and for looking after it so well, so delighted you have booked for 2019 already. You have geared me up into thinking about our own 2019 holidays too so thank you! We continue to feel so lucky and honestly so grateful to have Stippy in our lives and we are so pleased you have had a great time. Enjoy the rest of this lovely summer. Take care, Sarah
Written 22 July 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Needham Market, United Kingdom1 contribution
Just what we wanted and more!
We spent a wonderful week at no 2 Stippy Stappy, perfect cottage, beautifuly decorated, very well equiped and needed for nothing. Lovely enclosed suntrap of a rear garden ideal for al fresco meals.
It was so nice to be able to easily walk from the cottage to the beautiful scenic coast path and local beaches. Shops, pubs and restaurants all a short stroll away. We would highly recommend this lovely restful cottage as a base for your break in this stunning part of Cornwall. Thankyou Sarah.
Visited April 2018
Written 8 May 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mansfield, United Kingdom3 contributions
Wonderful stay in a brilliant location!
This is our second stay at 2 Stippy Stappy. As previously, it was perfectly clean and welcoming. The trees that line the path directly outside the cottage that leads to the beach have been cleared to make it even easier to access Trevanance Cove. There is new furniture in the garden which is a bit of a sun trap and a tv / dvd to entertain the kids. We used some of the excellent local guidebooks and maps provided in the cottage to do several walks in and around the area, both towards the beacon and along the cliffs. Driftwood Spars down at the cove has great beers brewed by themselves which are worth tasting in detail! Also recommended is the Cornish Pizza Company. We will definitely return to the cottage in the future and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere with contemporary decor in a traditional fisherman’s cottage setting.
Visited April 2018
Written 14 April 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Mansfield, United Kingdom3 contributions
Brilliant stay at stippy stappy!
A fantastic place to stay for the family! The place was perfectly clean and ready for our arrival. Brand new kitchen and lovely decor shows that the owner has great taste and has combined this with a homely feel. The beach is a short walk down the path outside the house to the cove and there are plenty of breathtaking walks in the area. The village is great with plenty of places to eat and drink. We would highly recommend staying here and will definitely return.
Visited May 2017
Written 5 July 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
So glad you had a great holiday, we really appreciate your time writing a review and look forward to welcoming you back to Stippy Stappy soon.
Written 7 July 2017. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom66 contributions
NICE NAME - NICE PLACE
My wife and myself, both in our 60's, stayed at 2 Stippy Stappy in the last week of June 2017. It was the first time we have visited this area so we were unsure what to expect.
The Grade 2 listed cottage is clean, well equipped and has a number of "little touches" from the owner to ensure you have a pleasant visit.
St. Agnes is a picturesque Cornish village with a good variety of shops, restaurants, coffee shops, take-aways and pubs.
As previous reviews allude to, this is a nice comfortable property to stay in and we only had one problem with the cottage itself in connecting to the WiFi. The information book in the cottage incorrectly lists a BT router & password but in fact the router is a Vodafone one with the password on the back of the unit. As "non-techies" we were on the verge of contacting the owner when we eventually sorted it out.
Also worth mentioning is the position of the cottage for access and car parking. It is positioned about 100 yards down a steep hill - Town Hill - and Stippy Stappy with its 9 cottages is actually a very steep footpath off this road. People with limited mobility problems take note.
We had difficulty with car parking near the cottage. There is room for 4 cars only to park on Town Hill opposite the cottages but unfortunately we were unsuccessful in being able to park there during the whole week. Any attempt we made to "temporarily" park outside these spaces for loading/unloading only led to obstructing and therefore annoying drivers and pedestrians. To check if any of the spaces are available you are in the one-way system down the hill - if none are free you are forced to carry on down to the bottom to see if there is any street parking down there - and then a steep walk back up. If there are no spaces there - you end up back in the one-way system around the village to check for spaces in the centre which we found to be very "hit and miss". After a while, we gave up on this looping around and simply parked in the central car park (honesty box in operation) about 5 minutes walk away.
If it is a necessity for you to have your vehicle parked close to this property then you may have a problem here.
The above said, we enjoyed our week in this cottage with all St. Agnes and the local area had to offer.
Visited June 2017
Written 1 July 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hi, thank you so much for your review. Apologies re the wifi passcode, we changed service providers the week prior to your visit and completely forgot to change the passcode in the information book. Really helpful of you to point this out - I will get it changed immediately, thank you.
I'm sorry you didn't manage to park easily or secure temporary parking. I am aware one of the cottages is having some building work done with likely building vans there. The majority of the time it is fine but like many cottages in the village we do not have a private designated parking space.
We recommend parking in Trevaunce road if you are unable to secure a space. This is just around the corner and always has plenty of roadside spaces. This is closer than the main village car park. Luckily our cottage is at the top of the Stippy Stappy row and therefore less than 20 yards from street parking.
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate your feedback.
Written 5 July 2017. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
St Agnes is an unspoilt spot on the North Cornish coast within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and a World Heritage Site. It is home to some of the most beautiful beaches in Cornwall with access to some stunning coast paths and walks. The view from St Agnes towards St Ives is breathtaking. The town is full of independent shops, businesses and great places to eat.
No. 2 Stippy Stappy's location means you can enjoy all that St Agnes has to offer without needing to get in your car.
It's just a 5 minute walk to Trevaunance Cove, a large sandy beach at the foot of St. Agnes. Perfect for families, it's great for rock-pools, surfing, and an early evening drink as the sun goes down. The St Agnes Beacon 1/2 mile from the house provides wide stretched panoramic views over the coastline. The beautiful National Trust beach at Chapel Porth is only 2 miles away, 5 minutes by car. At low tide you can walk from Chapel Porth to Porthtowan beach. Perranporth beach is huge and family/surfer friendly and only 3.5 miles away, 9 minutes by car. Seal colonies at Godrvey Point are 14 miles away, yet seals and dolphins are repeatedly spotted throughout the year on St Agnes beaches and often share the surf with the numerous bodyboarders and surfers at sunset.
The charming cathedral city of Truro is just 9 miles. Newquay and it's popular surfing beaches and culture is 12 miles along a beautiful coastal road, whilst the surfing breaks around St Agnes are the best in North Cornwall. The artistic and cultural St Ives is 16 miles. Falmouth is 13 miles. The Gardens of Heligan and Eden Project are 20 miles. Padstow, along with Rock and the Camel Estuary, with it's famous seafood and charming harbour are a 30 minute drive. Lands End is 28 miles.
Car not needed
How to get there
Driving to No.2 Stippy Stappy is very easy. From the A30 take the B3277 signposted to St Agnes at Chiverton Cross roundabout. Follow this road for 2 miles until you enter St Agnes. Just after you pass the St Agnes Museum on your left, turn right at the mini roundabout towards the village centre. After 250M you'll pass through the centre of the village with the St Agnes Hotel on your left and the church on your right. The road bears to the right and descends Town Hill. 50 M down Town Hill you'll see Stippy Stappy on your left. Detailed directions will be given on booking.
Fishing spots availableGolf course (within 30 mins drive)Watersports
Things to know
100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
50% refund* if you cancel at least 8 weeks before check-in
25% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
No refund available once booking is confirmed
Notes from owner
Our prices are for 7 night stays. During the high season we can only take bookings for a minimum of 7 nights. Out of season please contact owner for short break prices.
During high season changeover day is Saturday. Other times of year this may is flexible - please contact owner to discuss your requirements.
Normal arrival time is 4pm and departure time is 10am. There may be some flexibility if prior notice is given.
Booking terms will be supplied in full - please contact the owner.
About this property
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
Initially, you may contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.
This owner will contact you via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox.
You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.
For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.
Yes. Payments made via the Tripadvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.