We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

No.4 The Old Convent.

36 reviews
Save
Autumn at The Old Convent.
Very spacious bedroom with king size bed.
1 of 26Autumn at The Old Convent.
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Overview
2 bedrooms
1 bathroom
4 guests
3 nights minimum
Condo/Apartment
No.4 is a very spacious first floor two bedroom apartment that has been lovingly renovated to a very high standard keeping some of the character but adding some modern touches. Beautiful large living room with wood burning stove set into a natural stone wall ideal for cosy winter nights in relaxing on the luxury chesterfield suite. Large kitchen/dining room with everything provided. The living area is on the first floor and both bedrooms are upstairs making the apartment seem like a house. The Old Convent was originally built as a church in 1842, then converted into a convent 'St Scholastica's Priory' in 1891, the nun's took residence in 1892 until 1922 when the remaining nun's were moved to Holme Eden Abbey. Some of the nun's are buried in the graveyard at Fort Augustus Abbey, half a mile...No.4 is a very spacious first floor two bedroom apartment that has been lovingly renovated to a very high standard keeping some of the character but adding some modern touches. Beautiful large living room with wood burning stove set into a natural stone wall ideal for cosy winter nights in relaxing on the luxury chesterfield suite. Large kitchen/dining room with everything provided. The living area is on the first floor and both bedrooms are upstairs making the apartment seem like a house. The Old Convent was originally built as a church in 1842, then converted into a convent 'St Scholastica's Priory' in 1891, the nun's took residence in 1892 until 1922 when the remaining nun's were moved to Holme Eden Abbey. Some of the nun's are buried in the graveyard at Fort Augustus Abbey, half a mile from the convent on the shores of Loch Ness. If No.4 is already booked for your preferred dates please enquire about No.1 or No.3More
House Rules
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: No
The apartment is not suitable for children, we allow children over the age of 16 but guests must be aware that this is an apartment and as it is above another apartment we ask that children do not run or jump on the floors. We want all our guests to enjoy a peaceful holiday. We do allow well behaved dogs but they are not allowed in the bedrooms, please ask.
Bathrooms
1 Full bath
Show more
About the Owner
Felicity Rogers & C
Languages spoken:English
Response Rate:100%
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:June 2013
Write a reviewReviews (36)

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2020

No. 4 The Old Convent has been beautifully restored and was warm and cosy. It is on the main road but you wouldn’t know as it’s so quiet and peaceful. It is spacious, very tastefully furnished with a lovely bathroom with roll top bath, a...More

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank SandraG7830
Felicity R, VR Owner at No.4 The Old Convent., responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2020

Thank you very much, we are very happy to hear you were warm and comfortable and enjoyed your stay here. Felicity & Chris

Reviewed 17 August 2020

I can’t express how much we are enjoying our stay here! The building and accommodation is absolutely stunning and it is clear a lot of love and care has been taken in every aspect. The apartment was perfect, everything you would want and need, plus...More

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank debbiesU1784QT
Felicity R, VR Owner at No.4 The Old Convent., responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2020

Thank you very much, we enjoyed all our chats too! We really do appreciate the kind words of all our guests, best job in the world... Felicity & Chris

A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
35
Reviewed 9 August 2020 via mobile

More

Date of stay: August 2020
Felicity R, VR Owner at No.4 The Old Convent., responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2020

More

Reviewed 1 July 2019

Arrived today so friendly and helpful of what’s around and far away. The apartment is beautiful can not fault in anyway 4 of us and all live it here. Will come back again and only been here 3 hours.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank simmy66
FelicityR85, VR Owner at No.4 The Old Convent., responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Thank you, glad you felt so comfortable in the apartment so quickly! We look forward to welcoming you all back again for more exploring of the area. Felicity & Chris

Reviewed 16 February 2019

This was our 6th Christmas in Fort Augustus but our first at the Old Convent. The renovations that Felicity and Chris have undertaken are first class with excellent attention to detail and finishing. The flat was spotlessly clean,and had everything that you could possibly need...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Amscar
FelicityR85, VR Owner at No.4 The Old Convent., responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2019

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so happy your enjoyed Christmas here at The Old Convent and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again one day. Felicity & Chris

See more reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018

A lovely apartment set in an ideal location for exploring the Highlands. Spotlessly clean & warm, equipped to a very high standard making it home from home. The owners are lovely with a warm welcome and tips for alternative trips off the beaten track. Good...More

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank m0ttl0uis
Felicity R, VR Owner at No.4 The Old Convent., responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you very much for your lovely review of No.4. We are happy you enjoyed your stay here and exploring the area. Felicity & Chris

Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Old Convent for 5 days where I was given a warm welcome on arrival after a longish journey. Felicity explained everything about the lovely clean apartment and gave me lots of tips and suggestions for days out. Great hosts..very friendly. Apartment excellent..including...More

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank frances_1951
Felicity R, VR Owner at No.4 The Old Convent., responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Thank you for your review of No.4. We really enjoyed chatting with you and are glad you enjoyed your stay here and the local hens eggs! Felicity & Chris

A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Date of stay: April 2018
Felicity R, VR Owner at No.4 The Old Convent., responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

More

Reviewed 18 January 2018

A great short break based at this excellent apartment, a great cosy base to return to after winter days on the hill. Thanks to Felicity and Chris for their hospitality

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank sianddenise
Felicity R, VR Owner at No.4 The Old Convent., responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you, we are glad you enjoyed your second Christmas here at The Old Convent. Felicity & Chris

Reviewed 2 January 2018

This apartment is ideally situated just a short walk away from the lovely village of Fort AUGUSTUS where there are plenty of places to eat and lots of gorgeous scenery too. This is not our first trip to the area for New Year but was...More

Date of stay: December 2017
1  Thank Alicats116
Felicity R, VR Owner at No.4 The Old Convent., responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy you were comfortable and enjoyed a cosy New Year here at The Old Convent. Already looking forward to welcoming you both back for more chatting! Felicity & Chris

Amenities
Pets Allowed: Yes
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: No
DVD Player
Central Heating
Dishwasher
Dryer
Fireplace
Freezer
Refrigerator
Internet Access
Iron
Kettle
Linens Provided
Microwave
Mountain Views
Parking
Cable/satellite TV
Cooker
Toaster
Towels Provided
TV
Washer
Wi-Fi
Fishing Nearby
Golf Course Is On Site Or Within 15 Mins Walk
Horse Riding Nearby
There Are Tennis Courts Nearby
Watersports Nearby
Cycling Trips
Hiking Trips
Rural/Countryside Retreats
See more amenities
Availability
September 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
October 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
November 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2021
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
January 2022
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
February 2022
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
View all months
Map
+
About the neighbourhood
Fort Augustus is central to the highlands and is a great location for hill walkers with plenty of Munro's and Corbett's to choose from. Fort William has Ben Nevis and the fantastic mountain bike tracks/skiing in winter of Aonach Mor , the steam train used in a Harry Potter film to Mallaig is well worth taking, the road to the Isle of Skye passing Eilean Donan castle is just breathtaking! You can take a guided wildlife boat trip on Loch Sheil from Glenfinnan where you can spot otters, eagles, seals and many more wild creatures! If you take the boat trip on Loch Ness...you never know, Nessie might pop her head up or if you go to Loch Morar you might get a glimse of the monster Morag. Then of course the dramatic Glencoe, well worth a visit.
Getting around
There is a bus service between the main towns around the area however we do recommend that you have your own transport to really see the best of what is on offer in this area.
More
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#HL2227085311
Frequently Asked Questions about No.4 The Old Convent.

No.4 The Old Convent. is able to accommodate up to 4 guests. See all property details.

No.4 The Old Convent. has one bathroom available. See all property details.

No.4 The Old Convent. has 2 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at No.4 The Old Convent. must last at least 3 nights. See all property details.