We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A Bear Crossing in East Tennessee

70 reviews
Overview
Reviews
Amenities
Availability
Map
Overview
2 bedrooms
2 bathrooms
4 guests
Minimum stay varies
Cabin Holiday Rental
If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable and relaxing retreat away from the city noise, A Bear Crossing is for you. The cabin has two master bedrooms, each with a private bath, a full kitchen and living room and is located in Sevierville,Tennessee near the Arts & Crafts Community of Gatlinburg. The Great Smoky Mountain National Park is 15 minutes from the cabin. It is ta great location for enjoying nature and privacy on an extremely reasonable budget. Knoxville is approximately one hour away. Fit to sleep four (4) guests, the cabin contains a fully furnished kitchen, a cozy living room with a wood burning fire place, a dishwasher, dryer, washing machine, pool table, relaxing hot tub, rocking chairs, and air-conditioning. A Bear Crossing is a 15 minute drive from dining facilities, sh...If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable and relaxing retreat away from the city noise, A Bear Crossing is for you. The cabin has two master bedrooms, each with a private bath, a full kitchen and living room and is located in Sevierville,Tennessee near the Arts & Crafts Community of Gatlinburg. The Great Smoky Mountain National Park is 15 minutes from the cabin. It is ta great location for enjoying nature and privacy on an extremely reasonable budget. Knoxville is approximately one hour away. Fit to sleep four (4) guests, the cabin contains a fully furnished kitchen, a cozy living room with a wood burning fire place, a dishwasher, dryer, washing machine, pool table, relaxing hot tub, rocking chairs, and air-conditioning. A Bear Crossing is a 15 minute drive from dining facilities, shopping centers and famous bars. Tips to know before booking: 1. Guests are required to bring their own food as none is provided. The clean mountain air makes kids super hungry, so guests should stop at the grocery store in town before they head up to the cabin. Trust us, we've arrived without food and kids wanted to eat as soon as they arrived and we had to go straight back to town. 2. If you're looking for a hotel/motel experience, this cabin is not the place for you. A Bear Crossing is nestled in the foothills of the Smoky Mountains and like any mountain cabin, is off the beaten path so you need to make sure you obtain our directions first. These directions are described down to the tenth of a mile and you need to go slowly to make sure you do not miss any of the roads. The cabin is about 20 miles from Exit 407 on I-40 from Knoxville. There's another route to the cabin via I-40, Exit 435, if you're coming from North Carolina. 3. Bring a boom box and play your favorite songs while relaxing in the hot tub enjoying a cool drink. OPTIONAL: 4. If you are with a group that is on-the-go, check out our suggested 'must do's'. We have them posted on our bulletin board and we offer suggested activities based on how energetic you are. 5. Reasonable daily rates make A Bear Crossing a perfect place to stay and returning guests receive loyalty credits for one day for every three days booked. We also give loyalty credits for referring our cabin to your friends. Advise them to mention your name when booking. More
House Rules
Bathrooms
Show more
About the Owner
Jan S
Languages spoken:English
Response Rate:100%
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:June 2014
Write a reviewReviews (70)

1 - 5 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2019 via mobile

My family and I really enjoyed this nice secluded cabin. The WiFi didn’t work very well but you have to forfeit luxuries for the location in the mountains. Hoping we can stay in this cabin again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Davidsonj69
Jan R, VR Owner at A Bear Crossing in East Tennessee, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2019

Thank you for the nice review. Please come back soon. Jan

Reviewed 21 July 2019

We love Tennessee, and this was not our first trip, So we did have some expectations for our cabin. When we first got to the cabin, (which was easier to find than we thought but some people may find it a challenge) There’s a huge...More

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank ChasBravo
Jan R, VR Owner at A Bear Crossing in East Tennessee, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2019

Hi, I'm sorry you didn't like my cabin. The TV is new, bought in March, and the last guests changed the mode and didn't return the mode to the correct setting. I'm sorry that I didn't know how to change the mode. My housekeeper said...More

See more reviews
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Reviewed 2 January 2019 via mobile

More

Date of stay: December 2018
Jan R, VR Owner at A Bear Crossing in East Tennessee, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

More

Reviewed 12 December 2018

Cabin was in the mountains. GPS could not find the exact location. Owner needs to put a sign on the access road leading to the cabin as we went by it several times. We thought is was a personal driveway. Also roads are narrow leading...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Safari796250
Jan R, VR Owner at A Bear Crossing in East Tennessee, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2018

Hi, Thank you for your comments. I've had signs there a couple of times and they were stolen. I suppose by honeymooners. As far as the GPS, it stops by the 5 mailboxes that I have noted in my directions. The road up to my...More

Reviewed 23 November 2018

We absolutely loved it. It was super clean and well kept. The only thing that could change will be getting a new TV. It's a little outdated. we will be back.More

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank 82tiffaniet
Jan R, VR Owner at A Bear Crossing in East Tennessee, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2018

Hi Tiffanie, Yes, I agree about the TV. When I go down in December I plan to buy a new one. Someone stole the last TV I had, so I hesitated to buy a new one, but I am going to do it. Please come...More

Amenities
Pets Allowed: No
Smoking Allowed: No
Kid Friendly: Yes
DVD Player
Suitable For Children Under 5
Refrigerator
Porch
Washer
Safe
Air Conditioning
Towels Provided
Paper Towels Provided
Private Garden
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive
Ceiling Fans
TV
Shared Garden
Rural/Countryside Retreats
Linens Provided
Secure Parking
Horse Riding Nearby
Internet Access
Toaster
Cooker
Grill
Short Term Rentals (4 Days Or Fewer)
Hot Tub
Pool Table
Alarm Clock
Central Heating
Dryer
Dishwasher
Freezer
Cable/satellite TV
Iron
Microwave
Wi-Fi
Fireplace
See more amenities
Is this holiday rental clean?YesNoUnsure
Availability
October 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
November 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2019
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
January 2020
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
February 2020
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
March 2020
S
M
T
W
T
F
S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
View all months
See more rates and fees
Map
+
About the neighbourhood
Ten minutes from the Arts & Crafts Community of Gatlinburg.
How to get there
More
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
How will the owner contact me?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN2224518105