We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property

Rainbow Plantation B&B - peaceful oceanview retreat

Save
Main house
Very good
12 reviews
Main house
Crows Nest
Crows Nest & Hale Huna cottage
Crows Nest room. $119/n.
Fern and Peacock rooms
Peacock & Fern patio
Fern room. $99/n.
Fern & Peacock rooms
Hale Huna
Hale Huna deck
Hale Huna room. $99/n.
Hale Huna
Hale Huna
Jungle Queen boat room. $89/n.
Jungle Queen boat room
Jungle Queen boat room
Jungle Queen boat room
Koi ponds
Jungle kitchen for guests
Breakfast buffet
Our bananas
Our peacock Romeo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
The newly renovated Rainbow Plantation Bed & Breakfast is located on a lush tropical 3 acre plantation on the Big Island of Hawaii. South of Kailua-Kona between Captain Cook and Kealakekua on a cooler 1300 ft elevation with sweeping ocean view. No need for AC up here !
It is a natural, secluded retreat away from traffic and stress, surrounded by many varieties of tropical plants, flowers and organically grown fruit trees. This wild life sanctuary is great for eco travelers, bird watchers and animal/nature lovers who seek a true Hawaiian, non-touristy, non toxic environment in which to relax and unwind.
We offer comfortable, recently renovated private rooms all with their own private bath.
Free high speed Wi-Fi !
A large tropical healthy breakfast is available. Or use our open gazebo kitchen and dining area, centrally located for all...
Read more
About the Owner, Christian H
Languages spoken: German, Swedish, English
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 116 days ago
Listed since : Jul 2012
Overall rating: 4.0 / 5.0
Based on 12 reviews and 1 property
Contact Owner See more properties
Listing #FKN3486891
Reviews from our community
Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mark j
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at Rainbow Plantation. Christian was really helpful in recommending things to do and beaches to see. We especially enjoyed Kekaha kai state park, which we would probably have never gone to were it not for his recommendation. You have to travel down a terrible road (basically a lava field) to get to beach. But, when you...

More
Management response:

Great you liked our place, and that beach. Many places around here like that, less crowded and beautiful, and I'm happy to share them with our guests. The Peacock however, we cannot cook and share, he is part of this place... Thanks for staying here !

More

Report response as inappropriate
Thomas N
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed there for two nights and the host says we must share the restroom with only one room and for two nights its normaly ok but than we must shared it with two rooms. Also the room and the bathroom was for us not really clean.

More
Management response:

This guest stayed in our economy room, that I only rent when all other rooms are full. They were told well in advance that the room has a shared bathroom. And it is clean. THEY ONLY PAID HALF PRICE. They did not say a thing or complain when here, in fact I offered them many tips and they stayed for...

More

Report response as inappropriate
craiginca...
canberra
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Loved the Rainbow B&B - after a few days at Wikiki it was the perfect antidote to the rush and bustle - being a haven of quite and calm amongst the rainforest. And super friendly host and the opportunity to mix with other guests and hear their stories. Made for a great stay. Highly recommended!

More
Amenities
  • Alarm Clock
  • Balcony or Terrace
  • Blender
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Cooker
  • Deck
  • DVD Player
  • Grill
  • Hairdryer
  • Internet Access
  • Iron
  • Kettle
  • King Beds:(2)
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Guides/Maps
  • Microwave
  • Mountain Views
  • Paper Towels Provided
  • Patio
  • Queen Beds:(4)
  • Refrigerator
  • Satellite TV
  • Secure Parking
  • Shared Garden
  • Shared Tennis Court
  • Shower Rooms (1)
  • Soap/Shampoo Provided
  • Sofa Beds:(4)
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
  • Telephone
  • Toaster
  • Towels Provided
  • Washer
  • Water Views
  • Wi-Fi
House rules
    Kid-friendly
    Pets not allowed
    Smoking allowed
Please be considerate to others staying at here. Quiet time between 9 pm and 8 am. Smoking outside buildings only. $150 sanitizing fee if you smoke in room. Clean kitchen after...
More
Availability
Show Rates
Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Showing rates for up to guests.
Dates Min stay Per night Per week Per month
Default 2 nights
£51
US$69
£306
US$414
£1,071
US$1,449
1 Oct 2017 -
15 Oct 2017
Ironman Competition
5 nights
£66
US$89
£395
US$534
£1,382
US$1,869
Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to British Pounds and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
Fees
  • Cleaning fee: £22 / stay - Fee
Additional Rate and Availability Information
Above rate is for a budget room !!! For 2 guests only !
Our room rates range from $69 to $129 depending on size and season.
A budget room with a queen bed and shared bath is $69 for 2.
All other regular rooms are $89 - $119 and have private bath and deck.
Rooms sleep from 2 to 6 guests.
Most rooms also have a queen sofa sleeper bed.
Breakfast is $5 per person and day, available during high season only.
Stay 7 nights and pay for 6 if booking directly via website.
Ironman weeks OCt 1-15 are $20 extra per room and night.
Cancellation policy:
Full payment or deposit is due at time of booking, unless paying with cash. Card is always required to secure reservation.
More than 30 days prior to arrival, full refund.
More than 1 week, 1 night will be charged.
Less than a week, 2 nights will be charged. 2 or less days before arrival, no refund.
* If you need to check in after 8:00 pm please let us know
* We reserve the right to make room changes due to unforeseen circumstances.
Hide Rates
Map
About the neighbourhood
We are located between Captain Cook and Kealakekua. Close to the Captain Cook monument hiking trail and only minutes from Kealakekua Bay with great kayaking and snorkeling, often with dolphins. Nearby other attractions are boat rides, manta ray snorkeling, diving, golf and an ancient Hawaiian village. There are plenty of restaurants nearby.

GPS position: +19° 29' 42.34", -155° 55' 16.08"

Directions to the Rainbow B&B:
We are located at 81-6327 Mamalahoa Hwy, about 15 miles south of Kona. 20 from airport.
If coming from Kona, we are located after Kealakekua, but before Captain Cook and on the Right before the first road (Napoopoo) leading down to Kealakekua bay. There is a kayak rental just before and a Chevron station opposite our driveway.
If coming from the...
more
Access
Car advised
How to get there
Airport: Kona KOA: 32.0 km
We are located between Kealakekua and Captain Cook. Opposite the Shell gas station on the ocean side (mauka). Right before the new Napoopoo Rd intersection, if coming from Kona. Our sign is along the Mamalahoa Hwy, the Hawaii Belt Road. 81-6327 Mamalahoa is our street address...
Activities nearby
Fishing Nearby, There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive, There Are Tennis Courts Nearby, Watersports Nearby, Nearest Beach: 4.8 km.
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
Initially, you may contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.
How will the owner contact me?
This owner will contact you via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox.
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.
How do I pay?
For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.
Is my payment insured in any way?
Yes. Payments made via the TripAdvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN3486891
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
£51
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
118 travellers
viewed this property in the past week
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.