We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Setch Barn, Masham

Want exclusive deal alerts, booking reminders, and quicker checkout?
Log in now

Overview
2 bedrooms
1 bathroom
4 guests
3 nights minimum 
Holiday Rental House
This charming barn conversion set in Masham, North Yorkshire, sleeps four people in two bedrooms.Setch Barn is an attractive barn conversion set just round the corner from the market square in Masham, North Yorkshire. With two bedrooms, including a ground floor king-size double and a first floor twin, the property can sleep four people. There is also a ground floor wet room and an open plan living area with a kitchen, a dining area and a sitting area. Outside, there is off road parking for two cars, plus a patio garden with furniture and a shed for bike storage. Setch Barn is a wonderfully-equipped cottage in a fantastic touring area. Amenities: Gas central heating with ground floor underfloor heating. Electric oven, ceramic hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, TV wit...This charming barn conversion set in Masham, North Yorkshire, sleeps four people in two bedrooms.Setch Barn is an attractive barn conversion set just round the corner from the market square in Masham, North Yorkshire. With two bedrooms, including a ground floor king-size double and a first floor twin, the property can sleep four people. There is also a ground floor wet room and an open plan living area with a kitchen, a dining area and a sitting area. Outside, there is off road parking for two cars, plus a patio garden with furniture and a shed for bike storage. Setch Barn is a wonderfully-equipped cottage in a fantastic touring area. Amenities: Gas central heating with ground floor underfloor heating. Electric oven, ceramic hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, WiFi. Fuel and power inc. in rent. Bed linen and towels inc. in rent. Cot on request. Off road parking for 2 cars. Storage for bikes. Enclosed patio with furniture. Sorry, no pets and no smoking. Shop next door, pub 3 mins walk.Note: Charging of electric vehicles is prohibited at this property. Region: From heather-clad moors and limestone scars, to market towns and the steady pace of country life - the sublime Dales await you! Where else in Britain is it as satisfying to sit and do nothing as it is to explore the numerous pursuits on offer? Town: The historic little market town of Masham is situated in the lower reaches of pretty Wensleydale alongside the River Ure. Set in gently rolling farmland, the town boasts a huge market square, where a Wednesday market has been joined by a popular Saturday market. With so much to see and do in the area, this is a great place for a holiday in all seasons.
House Rules
Pets not allowedKid friendlyNo smoking
Bedrooms
1 King2 Singles
Bathrooms
1 Full bath

Meet the host
Sykes Holiday Cottages
Hosting since October 2009
Languages spoken: English
Response Time: Within a few hours

Contribute
Reviews (4)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
If you have submitted a review for a holiday rental property, we may also ask that you provide us with proof of your stay to ensure that your review is attached to the correct rental property.
Holiday rental reviews collected via the VRBO website (formerly Homeaway) and syndicated to the Tripadvisor website are not currently subject to Tripadvisor’s standard moderation processes.
Learn more about our review moderation.
artdeco61
artdeco61
196 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
excellent and immaculately clean
Wonderful well kept and equipped cottage. Arrived to find this beautifully well equipped cottage with parking space and all amenities. Really nice inside and plenty of room. very well equipped kitchen and luxury shower room. nice and quiet at night for decent nights sleep. warm and comfortable. large king-size bed in main bedroom and loved the quirky upstairs twin room. Location is great and as easy to access shopping, cafes, pubs and lovely little shops. Very central to see all the sights of the dales . Masham is a wonderful gem of a market town with friendly community. The owners have ensured this holiday accommodation is of great quality together with their caretaker providing immaculate cleaning and maintenance.. We had a wonderful stay and have already booked to return next year. a big thank you to all involved with this beautiful gem and hideaway barn. Rita & Graham/Lincolnshire
Visited September 2019
Written 9 October 2019. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

HKT
HKT
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Great if you are a trained gas engineer.
Masham is a truly lovely gem of a place, ideally situated in Lower Wensleydale. The countryside is breathtaking, ideal for walks and exploring. When you get back there are several excellent pubs serving beer from the two local breweries. We usually stay in one of the pubs but thought we would give self catering a go. Setch Barn looked to be a good place to start. Initial impressions were good, it is ideally situated in the town next to the co op, you could hear the cars but it wasn’t intrusive. The property itself is attractive, if unimaginatively styled, not quite a traditional barn in rural North Yorkshire as you would expect. The quality of the furnishings is good. The main room and bedrooms are a good size, however the kitchen is rather on the small size. The full side of the property is glazed so you have to keep the blinds closed or you have no privacy. Lighting is quite poor so it is quite a gloomy atmosphere during winter. Unfortunately the property is very cold in winter, exacerbated by the tall ceilings. This was further compounded with the boiler breaking down twice in two days leaving us with out hot water on two occasions and no heating. Despite the help from Sykes the matter was unresolved so we abandoned our holiday early. We are not impressed with the response from the owner, hey ho. We wouldn’t visit the property again, nor would we recommend it. In our opinion the standard isn’t there to justify the high price. What a shame. We will stick to the good pubs which offer the comfort and more importantly warmth!
Visited December 2018
Written 12 December 2018. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Quest258378
Quest258378
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. I am sorry to hear you experienced disruption to the hot water and heating supply at the property. I can see we spoke to you a couple of days into your stay and discussed how to resolve the issue with you. As we did not hear back from you, we were under the impression this was resolved. We are sorry to hear this was not the case and that you left the property early. It is very difficult to assist when we are not informed of issues until a few days after a property has been vacated, and we would have loved the opportunity to get your holiday back on track. Kind Regards, Nikki at Sykes Cottages
Written 15 December 2018. This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Fearless730618
Fearless730618
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location, very clean and comfortable
Really enjoyed our stay in Setch Barn, Masham. The barn was very clean and comfortable with everything required. Maham has some great pubs with reasonably priced food.Visit to the Black Sheep brewery excellent.
Visited October 2017
Written 18 October 2017. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Aitch2910
Aitch2910
Rippingale, United Kingdom12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Weekend with inlaws
We were invited to stay here for the weekend by my inlaws who were staying the week. It is completely tucked away yet next door to the local co op. Beautifully decorated with a fantastic wet room and extensively equipped kitchen. I had the best two nights sleep here that I have had for a long time.
Visited October 2015 Travelled with family
Written 4 October 2015. This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Showing results 1-4 of 4

What this rental offers
Outdoor amenities
  • Private yard
Bathroom and laundry
  • Dryer
  • Linens provided
  • Towels provided
Parking
  • Parking available
Indoor amenities
  • Central heating
  • Internet access
Wi-fi and internet
  • Wi-fi
Location info
  • Kid friendly
Entertainment
  • Television
Kitchen and dining
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Refrigerator
  • Kettle
  • Microwave
  • Toaster

Availability
M
T
W
T
F
S
S

May 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
31
1

June 2024

M
T
W
T
F
S
S
27
28
31
1
11
12
13

Map

Things to know
Cancellation policy
  • 100% refund within 24 hours after booking (provided the stay is at least 60 days away).
  • 50% refund* if you cancel at least 4 weeks before check-in
  • No refund available once booking is confirmed

About this property

First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.

If the owner has provided contact information, you may contact him or her directly. If not, you can contact the owner via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner

You can send another message via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox to check if the property is still available. If the owner has listed a phone number, you can also call to follow up. send enquiries to other properties. If you still don't hear from the owner, Tripadvisor recommends that you send enquiries to other properties.

If the owner approves your stay, he or she will let you know which forms of payment are accepted. This owner does not currently accept payments via the Tripadvisor inbox. You can ask him or her to sign up; payments made via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.

If you would like payment protection, ask the owner to sign up to accept online payments on Tripadvisor. Payments made via the Tripadvisor Rental Inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.


Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Earn extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Manage booking easily
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to checkout, even while you’re on the go.
Be trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.

This property is affiliated with   /img2/vacationrentals/brand_refresh/FK_Supplier_Logo.png   All bookings are direct with the owner
Property #FKN2226545182

Frequently Asked Questions about Setch Barn, Masham

Setch Barn, Masham is able to accommodate up to 4 guests. See all property details.

Setch Barn, Masham has one bathroom available. See all property details.

Setch Barn, Masham has 2 bedrooms available. See all property details.

Stays at Setch Barn, Masham must last at least 3 nights. See all property details.

Setch Barn, Masham - UPDATED 2024 - Holiday Rental in Masham - Tripadvisor