We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
simon-fidler

Since Oct 2006

50-64 year old male

Southampton UK

I've been a regular traveller all my life. Born in Bath, England in 1956 and ten weeks later taken to & brought up in West Germany until the age of thirteen. My parents took me to several European countries on caravanning holidays before my father retired to the UK in 1970. I started travelling independently at the age of 17 and lived and worked in Holland, Germany, France and the US over the next eight years. In the early 80's I travelled to Ireland, Holland and Czechoslovakia (four times), before settling in Southampton for a couple of years to study as a Probation Officer. I met my wife Susanne, a Dane, who was also at Southampton University, in 1985. We've travelled to Denmark to see her family most years since then, in addition to trips further afield. We took our first son, Tom, to Goa, India when he was three, and to Kerala a couple of years later. Since the birth of our second son, Louis, in 1998, we've mainly toured with activity holiday companies such as Explore and Exodus
Travel Style
Foodie
Eco-tourist
Like a Local
Nature Lover
Family Holiday Maker
Peace and Quiet Seeker
Art and Architecture Lover
simon-fidler's TripCollective Progress
Total Points
17,976
Level 6 Contributor
Readership
90,000 Readers
Helpful Reviewer
100 Votes
Expert Photographer
50 Photos
Top Contributor
50 Reviews
Passport
61 Cities
Total Points 17,976

simon-fidler's Contributions

Filter by

  • All
  • Hotels (24)
  • Restaurants (109)
  • Attractions (15)
Rating
Helpful Votes
Points
What kind of traveller are you?
Select 3 or more tags to include on your member profile
Done
Cancel